1993 LAX Team Honored by NCAA – Hobart and William Smith Colleges \
The HWS Update

1993 LAX Team Honored by NCAA

The 20th anniversary of the 1993 Hobart College lacrosse team’s national championship will be celebrated by the NCAA this weekend. The Statesmen will be recognized at Lincoln Financial Field in Philadelphia during halftime of the 2013 NCAA Division III Championship game on Sunday, May 26.
Hobart compiled an 11-3 record in 1993, including an unblemished 9-0 mark against Division III opponents, on the way to the program’s 13th Division III title in 14 seasons. The Statesmen ended the season on a five-game winning streak, barreling through the NCAA tournament with wins over Gettysburg 19-8 in first round, Nazareth 20-16 in semifinals, and Ohio Wesleyan 16-10 in championship. The title game against the Battling Bishops set a then Division III attendance record (9,597).
Eight Statesmen were named to the USILA All-America teams, including first team selections attackman Cabell Maddux, defenseman Mike O’Connor, and midfielder Bobby Wynne. O’Connor was second on the team with 111 ground balls and was named the USILA National Player of the Year. Maddux led the team in goals (29), assists (42) and points (71) and was named the USILA Attackman of the Year. He scored a tournament-high 19 points and was named the Most Outstanding Player of the championship.
Defenseman Mike Higgins and O’Connor represented Hobart in the North-South All-Star Game.
Alumni House will be hosting a tailgate on Saturday, May 25 (noon to 5 p.m.) and Sunday, May 26 (noon to 4 p.m.) in the tent area outside of the stadium. Visit www.hwsalumni.com/NCAAlax2013 for more information.
Game tickets can be purchased at the gate or by visiting ncaa.com. RIT and Stevenson faceoff in the 2013 NCAA Division III Championship at 4 p.m.