Statesmen Collect Postseason Awards – Hobart and William Smith Colleges \
The HWS Update

Statesmen Collect Postseason Awards

For the eighth time in the past 10 years, the Hobart College rowing team collected all three Liberty League postseason awards in a vote of the conference coaches. The Statesmen claimed their 10th Crew of the Year award, eighth Novice Crew of the Year award, and ninth Coaching Staff of the Year award.

The Hobart varsity eight of Jessica Dinan, Brett Lawhon, August Wherry, Robert McNamara, Milos Milosavljevic, W. Hunter Holtz, Rob Nanovsky, Owen Monahan, and Davis Muller dominated the conference championship, enjoying a 15.75-second margin of victory over the second place crew. The Statesmen 1V is unbeaten in the history of the Liberty League Championship.

Hobart’s top crew also captured a gold medal at the New York State Championships, marking the first time the Statesmen have climbed to the top of the podium in the varsity eight event since 1996. A week later at the ECAC National Invitational Rowing Championships, Hobart captured a bronze medal, trailing only Michigan and Williams.

Holtz, McNamara, Monahan, and Nanovsky were also members of the 2011-12 Liberty League Crew of the Year. Additionally, Nanovsky was a part of the 2010-11 Liberty League Novice Crew of the Year.

The Statesmen novice eight of Sky Drazek, Lawhon, Wherry, Milosavljevic, Julien Green, Patrick Ware, Harrison Wasserbauer, Dylan Brodie, and Muller also captured gold at the conference championships, enjoying an 18.68-second margin of victory over the runner-up. Lawhon, Wherry, Milosavljevic, and Muller were in both the Crew of the Year and Novice Crew of the Year lineups.


Second-year Head Coach Paul Bugenhagen earned his first Liberty League Coaching Staff of the Year award. Hobart collected the Liberty League Boat of the Week Award 10 times this season. The Statesmen won four medals at the conference championships, including gold in the varsity eight, the second varsity eight, and novice eight on the way to the program’s eighth consecutive league title. Hobart collected four more medals the following week at the New York State Champions with the 1V, 2V, and 3V all capturing gold. The Statesmen wrapped up the season with three medals at the 2013 ECAC NIRC and Bugenhagen was named the ECAC NIRC Men’s Coach of the Year. He was assisted by Tom Keller and Ford Weiskittel.