Grossman garners top prize at Heron Awards Banquet – Hobart and William Smith Colleges \
The HWS Update

Grossman garners top prize at Heron Awards Banquet

The Heron Society and the William Smith College Department of Athletics honored the top student-athletes of 2004-05 at the annual Heron Awards Banquet this evening. Senior swimmer Becky Grossman (Mercersburg Academy/Penfield, N.Y.) took home the night’s top award, earning the Marion Harrison Greene ’20 Award as William Smith’s most outstanding senior athlete.

Becky Grossman

Sarah Coffin

Jenn Tibbens

Crystal Cordes

Kate Kana

Caroline Wenzel

Seraphine Hamilton

Sophie Dennis

Marisa Vespa

Ivy Parker

Originally told she would not be able to swim this year due to shoulder injuries, Grossman battled through the pain and reached her ultimate goal of qualifying for the NCAA Championship meet. Not only did Grossman earn a spot in the national championships at the New York State Women’s Collegiate Athletic Association Championships, she also set five school records and matched another along the way.

Grossman owns individual records for the 50-yard butterfly (26.97), the 100 fly (57.71), and the 50 free (24.46), and shares the 100 free record (53.46). She also is a member of the record-setting 200 free (1:39.84) and 200 medley (1:53.64) relay teams.

The Winn-Seeley Award was presented to senior Sarah Coffin (St. George’s School (R.I.)/Bryn Mawr, Pa.). The Winn-Seeley Award recognizes an outstanding student-athlete who has contributed to many areas of William Smith athletics.

The first three-sport athlete in recent William Smith history, Coffin was a key player in the successes of the Heron golf, squash, and tennis teams this season. She posted the lowest scoring average on the golf team, finished second in career wins for the squash team, and played third singles for the tennis team as they matched the school record for wins in a season.

The Cynthia Oyler ’93 Award was presented to senior Jenn Tibbens (Sherburne-Earlville/Sherburne, N.Y.). The award is presented to the senior who will be continuing her education at the postgraduate level and displays outstanding athletic abilities, excellent academic records, and exemplary leadership.

An NSCAA All-Region honoree, Tibbens was a major part of William Smith’s suffocating defense that allowed just nine goals and posted 12 shutouts in 2004. She also earned All-Liberty League second-team and NYSWCAA All-State recognition. Selected to the CoSIDA Academic All-District first-team each of the past two years, Tibbens helped William Smith advance to the national semifinals in 2002 and was a key member of the 2003 squad that captured the ECAC Northeast Championship. Starting all but one game over the past three seasons, she helped the Herons post 36 shutouts, while allowing just 43 goals in 66 matches.

A certified EMT, Tibbens plans to attend medical school.

Senior tennis player Crystal Cordes (Mountain View/Mesa, Ariz.) received the Betsy Mitchell ’65 Award, for meeting and overcoming significant personal challenges. A back injury required surgery on two vertebrae following her first-year. While the procedure did not completely alleviate the pain, Cordes returned to the team this season as a doubles specialist, helping the tennis team match the school record for wins in a season.

Senior sailor Kate Kana (Gunston School/Easton, Md.) was named the Evaleen C. Harrison ’19 Scholar-Athlete Award winner. She has helped the Colleges’ sailing team qualify for three national championship events this season. A Dean’s List student, Kana is a member of Eta Sigma Phi, a Classics national honor society. She is also a member of William Smith Athletics Core 20, a group of student-athletes who act as peer facilitators within their teams, and currently is fulfilling an internship with the Finger Lakes Institute.

The Melissa Mulliken ’80 Award for participation and leadership, combined with off-field endeavors, that advance William Smith athletics was presented to senior Caroline Wenzel (Geneva/Geneva, N.Y.). A four-year member of the Heron soccer team, she appeared in 15 games this season, scoring two goals, including the game-winner against Cortland on Sept. 1. Off the field, Wenzel is a member of the William Smith Student-Athlete Advisory Council (SAAC) and served as president of the Liberty League SAAC. She also initiated a luncheon on campus in honor of the NCAA’s National Student-Athlete Day. The event applauded the Class of 2006 for its dedication in the athletic arena and in the classroom and challenged the seniors-to-be to rise to the leadership challenges that await them. She is the recipient of the Collins Family Scholarship.

Junior soccer defender Seraphine Hamilton (The Peddie School/Trenton, N.J.) received the Susan Bassett Award for excellence in academics, athletics, and leadership. A two-time All-Liberty League first-team honoree, Hamilton anchored the Herons’ backline that allowed just nine goals and posted 12 shutouts. She was selected to the NSCAA All-America third-team this year. During her three seasons at William Smith, Hamilton helped lead the Herons to their sixth NCAA semifinal appearance in 2002, the ECAC Northeast Championship in 2003, a record of 45-13-8 (.742), and 36 shutouts. She also has tallied a goal and five assists. Hamilton is also a member of the basketball team, although she played in just eight games this season before spending the second semester in the study abroad program in South Africa.

Sophomore forward Sophie Dennis (Dana L. West/Port Byron, N.Y.) garnered the Hazel Nettleship Hardy ’65 Award, presented to the sophomore who has contributed to the growth of Heron athletics and is an excellent representative of William Smith athletes. Dennis produced the second most prolific scoring season in Heron history in 2004. She led the Liberty League with 53 points on 22 goals and nine assists. Only Kimberly O’Gorman ’88 has scored more goals (30) or points (67) in a season (1987) for William Smith. A 2004 NFHCA All-America first-team selection, Dennis is a two-time first-team All-Liberty League pick and is 10 points shy of becoming just the 10th Heron to record 100 career points.

The Stephanie Christie Award, William Smith’s Rookie of the Year Award, was presented to two-