Hobart’s top 3 Crews Medal at Knecht Cup – Hobart and William Smith Colleges \
The HWS Update

Hobart’s top 3 Crews Medal at Knecht Cup

The Hobart College rowing team captured three medals, including a gold in the varsity eight, in the Knecht Cup on Mercer Lake this weekend. The Statesmen second varsity eight and third varsity eight secured silver medals.
On Saturday, the varsity eight dominated its morning heat, crossing the finish line in 5:57.02, 7.72 seconds ahead of runner-up Marist, to progress to the afternoon semifinals. Four hours later, Hobart was back on the water and again posted an open-water victory, stopping the clock at 5:54.02, 7.74 seconds in front of second place Bucknell. The result put the Statesmen in Sunday’s grand final.
Sam Zuckerman, Joe Biesemeyer, Robert McNamara, August Wherry, Brett Lawhon, Davis Muller, Patrick Ware, Milos Milosavljevic, and W. Hunter Holtz wrapped up the weekend with another impressive win. They clocked in at 5:57.35, 4.7 seconds faster than 19th-ranked Drexel and 7.37 seconds better than third place Ithaca.
This is the eighth consecutive year the Statesmen have competed in the Knecht Cup. It’s the first time Hobart has won a gold medal in the varsity eight following a silver medal in 2013 and bronze medals in 2009 and 2006.
In the second varsity eight, Jessica Dinan, Austin Letorney, Matthew Sylvan, Owen Monahan, Nicholas Baca, D. Griffin Marsh, Colin Theran, John Hibbard, and Dylan Brodie won their Saturday heat with plenty of time to spare, advancing to Sunday’s grand final with a time of 6:12.5, more than 10 seconds ahead of the rest of their competitors. In the final, Hobart dueled the Dragons for top honors, ultimately finishing just 1.85 seconds behind Drexel. The Statesmen’s time of 6:05.4 was more than six seconds faster than third place Marist.
Hobart’s third and fourth varsity eights competed in the men’s varsity eight DII/III event. In Saturday’s heats, the top two finishers in each heat as well as the next two fastest times advanced to the grand final. The 4V was third in the first heat with a time of 6:24.3 and had to wait for the finish of the second heat to see if they would race in the grand or petite final. The 3V won the second heat in 6:28.07, meaning both Statesmen crews would race for a medal on Sunday.
In the final, Division II Rollins won the gold with a time of 6:15.38. The third varsity eight of Carly Skehan, William Bird, Chris DePaola, Jordan Rooth, Brady Phillips, Mike Giroux, Nicholas Muller, David Kidwell, and Sam Menchel came across the line second in 6:18.93. Marietta was third (6:19.54) with the Hobart 4V taking fourth (6:31.53).
The Statesmen are back in action on Saturday, April 19, when they race Bucknell and Holy Cross in Princeton, N.J.