Community Engaged Scholarship Forum – Hobart and William Smith Colleges \
The HWS Update

Community Engaged Scholarship Forum

Students, faculty members, and community partners nominated by members of the Hobart and William Smith community will be recognized at the sixth annual Community Engaged Scholarship Forum on Tuesday, May 6, at 4:30 p.m. The hour-long forum will also highlight the exceptional work of HWS students and members of the faculty and staff. Students will be on hand to present their work via posters, videos and demonstrations. The interactive and informal session is open to the public and takes place in the Vandervort Room of the Scandling Campus Center.

Among the three awards that will be presented at the event is the Community Partner of the Year Award, presented annually to the person or agency who has consistently contributed to the civic development and leadership of Hobart and William Smith students. Nominations for this award were accepted from students, faculty and staff. The award recognizes the inherent value of community collaborations and acknowledges with gratitude the time, energy and interest invested in the student service and learning experience.

The Compass Award for Outstanding Engaged Student Scholarship will be presented to a Hobart College or William Smith College student who has excelled in either a community-based research project or a service-learning course. The student work is academically rigorous and has a meaningful community impact.

The Provost’s Office and the Center for Community Engagement and Service Learning annually seek nominations for the HWS Civically Engaged Faculty Award, which will also be presented. Campus Compact defines a civically engaged faculty member as one who has demonstrated “exemplary engaged scholarship, including leadership in advancing students’ civic learning, conducting community-based research, fostering reciprocal community partnerships, building institutional commitments to service-learning and civic engagement, and other means of enhancing higher education’s contributions to the public good.”

Selections for the awards were made by the Service Learning Advisory Council, and the Community Engaged Scholarship Forum is hosted by the Center for Community Engagement and Service Learning.

Light refreshments will be served. Please contact Katie Flowers, director of CCESL, at with any questions.