Phi Beta Kappa Welcomes New Members – Hobart and William Smith Colleges \
The HWS Update

Phi Beta Kappa Welcomes New Members

The Phi Beta Kappa Society at the Colleges has announced its newest inductees to the Zeta of New York Chapter. Nominated by the current membership of faculty and staff who were a part of the honor society as undergraduates, the society’s newly elected juniors and seniors were acknowledged in the induction ceremony on Wednesday, May 7.

Selected based on college standing, academic breadth, intellectual curiosity and personal character, members of Phi Beta Kappa are amongst the brightest students in the nation. The most prestigious undergraduate honors organization in the nation, approximately one percent of students graduating from American colleges and universities are invited to join each year. 

The list of senior students includes: Amira Abdulkadir, Emily Bearer, Mekala Bertocci, Abigael Blumenthal, Richard Bonney, Anya Bounar, Molly Breen, Sarah Buckleitner, Morgan Caudill, Karah Charette, Joshua Danis, Jenna Davidson-Catalano, Sarah DePillo, Emily Dove, Chelsea Dunay, Ana Garcia, Kara Gengarelly, Hilary Gove, Michael Green, Alexander Kent, Guanqun Li, Xiaoyang (Kelly) Liu, Margaret Manko, Eleanor McKay, Hillary Monahan, Julia Oak, Clarissa Sullivan, Brynna Trumpetto, Amy van Loon, Kelly Wendt, and Nicole Zanghi.

Election as a junior is the highest honor the chapter can bestow on a student. HWS juniors elected this year include Elizabeth Bramley, Stephanie Cramer, Luke DeLuccia, Emma McDowell, and Melissa Mahajan.

Phi Beta Kappa is the oldest and most prestigious honor society in the nation. The organization recognizes academic excellence, intellectual engagement and liberal learning. Approximately 250 colleges and universities across the nation have been granted chapters.