Heron V8 Set for Championship – Hobart and William Smith Colleges \
The HWS Update

Heron V8 Set for Championship

The William Smith College varsity eight will race for the title of fastest crew in the nation when the NCAA Division III Rowing Championship begins on Friday, May 30 in Indianapolis. Racing from Eagle Creek Reservoir will be webcast live on NCAA.com.
Senior coxswain Emily Davidowitz, first-year Catherine Wolf-Rodda, senior Lauren Blake-Whitney, senior Libby Hughes, senior Katie Paige, senior Sinead Reilly, junior Aly Clark, junior Emma Dow, and senior Alyssa Trebilcock are expected to take to the water for tomorrow’s 9 a.m. heat. The Herons, ranked No. 7 in the latest CRCA/USRowing poll, will take on No. 2 Williams, No. 3 Trinity (Conn.), and No. 6 Washington (Md.). The top two crews in the heat across the finish line will progress to Saturday’s grand final. The other two will return to Eagle Creek Reservoir Friday afternoon for the repechage.
Senior Morgan Atanasio, junior Caroline DeWeirdt, and sophomore coxswain Susan Tuvell are also in Indianapolis as spares in the event of an injury.
William Smith’s varsity eight has finished third in the NCAA grand final in each of the past two seasons. Blake-Whitney, Paige, Reilly, and Trebilcock all raced in the 1V in 2012 and 2013. Hughes was in the 1V last season and in the 2V at the 2012 championship.

This season, the 1V won gold medals at the Liberty League and New York State championships and won the petite final at the ECAC NIRC. The Herons were named the Liberty League Crew of the Year for the fourth consecutive season.