Hobart Wins 4th Level Final at IRA National Championships – Hobart and William Smith Colleges \
The HWS Update

Hobart Wins 4th Level Final at IRA National Championships

WEST WINDSOR TOWNSHIP, N.J.-The Hobart College rowing team’s varsity eight made a habit of winning this spring and on the final day of the Intercollegiate Rowing Association National Championships, the Statesmen did it again. Making just its second appearance in the regatta, the 19th-ranked Statesmen won the fourth level final to finish 19th overall.

Sam ZuckermanJoe BiesemeyerRobert McNamaraAugust WherryBrett LawhonJohn HibbardPatrick WareDavis Muller, and W. Hunter Holtz took to the water this morning looking to surpass the 2003 1V’s performance at IRAs, a fourth place finish in the fourth level final. This year’s crew pulled away from a field that included 16th-ranked Dartmouth, Drexel, Gonzaga, Holy Cross (which was receiving votes in the latest USRowing poll), and San Diego. As the Statesmen approached the final 500 meters, they enjoyed an open-water lead, crossing the finish line in 5:51.6, 3.45 seconds ahead of the second-place Bulldogs. The Dragons were third followed by the Crusaders, Big Green and Toreros.

Not only did Hobart’s top crew, post its best finish ever at the national championships, but the Statesmen also collected gold medals at the Knecht Cup, and the Liberty League, New York State, and ECAC championships. Hobart entered the national championships unbeaten this spring.

The Statesmen 2V and 3V made their IRA debuts this season.

The 2V of Jessica Dinan, Chris DePaola, Owen Monahan, Nicholas Baca, Austin Letorney, D. Griffin Marsh, Jordan Rooth, Matthew Sylvan, and Dylan Brodie also raced in a fourth level final. Hobart battled Columbia and San Diego down the stretch for second place behind George Washington, which posted a winning time of 5:55.1. The Lions entered the final 500 meters in second and held off the Statesmen. The Toreros made a late push to take third (21st overall) from Hobart, but the Statesmen answered the move with a strong sprint to finish in 6:01.7, 2.5 seconds ahead of San Diego. Florida Institute of Technology and Holy Cross rounded out the field.

Hobart’s 2V won gold medals at the Liberty League and New York State championships and brought home a bronze medal from the ECAC NIRC, highlighting their very successful season.

With six fewer entries, there were only three finals in the men’s third varsity eight. Sky Drazek, Tyler Steving, Alexander Sanford, Colin Theran, Garrett Tongue, William Bird, Brady Phillips, David Kidwell, and Sam Menchel came into the final quarter of the third level final even with Harvard and Drexel for fourth place. The Crimson used a powerful sprint to pull away from the Statesmen who held off the Dragons to take fifth (17th overall). Hobart posted a time of 6:16.17. Wisconsin won the third level final in 6:01.006.

The Statesmen 3V won a gold medal at the New York State Championships, a silver at the ECAC NIRC, and a bronze at the Liberty League Championships (in the 1V race).