Statesmen Compete in IRA Semifinals – Hobart and William Smith Colleges \
The HWS Update

Statesmen Compete in IRA Semifinals

WEST WINDSOR TOWNSHIP, N.J.-Hobart College’s top two crews returned to Mercer Lake to compete in the Intercollegiate Rowing Association National Championship semifinals today. The Statesmen varsity eight and second varsity eight raced in the C/D semifinals in hopes of progressing to the third level finals on Sunday.

The 1V was up first, squaring off with Florida Institute of Technology, George Washington, Gonzaga, San Diego, and Syracuse. The top three finishers would race in the third level final while the remaining crews would go to the fourth level final. Sam ZuckermanJoe BiesemeyerRobert McNamaraAugust WherryBrett LawhonJohn HibbardPatrick WareDavis Muller, and W. Hunter Holtz found themselves in a tight race with the Colonials and the Orange for the second and third place spots behind the Panthers, who won in 6:11.197. GW crossed the line second with SU taking the final berth in the third level final. Just 1.444 seconds separated second place George Washington and fourth place Hobart. The Statesmen stopped the clock at 6:14.754, less than 0.9 seconds behind Syracuse. The Bulldogs and Toreros were well off the page in fifth and sixth place, respectively.

The Hobart 2V of Jessica DinanChris DePaolaOwen MonahanNicholas BacaAustin LetorneyD. Griffin MarshJordan RoothMatthew Sylvan, and Dylan Brodie weren’t able to stay in contention for a third level final berth for as long as the 1V. They finished their semifinal sixth in 6:47.257. Dartmouth won in 6:28.223 with Syracuse and Stanford earning the final two berths in the third level final. Columbia and San Diego, fourth and fifth, respectively, will join the Statesmen in tomorrow’s fourth level final.

Hobart will conclude its first appearance in the IRA National Championships since 2011 with three races tomorrow. The 2V will race at 9:30 a.m. followed by the 3V in the third level final at 9:40 a.m. The 1V will cap the day, racing at 11:40 a.m.