Heron field hockey honored for academics – Hobart and William Smith Colleges \
The HWS Update

Heron field hockey honored for academics

The William Smith College field hockey team was named a 2013 Gladiator by SGI/National Field Hockey Coaches Association (NFHCA) Academic Team Award recipient. In addition, 10 Herons were named to the 2013 Gladiator by SGI/NFHCA Division III National Academic Squad.
The National Academic Team Award recognizes institutions that had a team grade point average of 3.0 or higher during the 2013 fall semester. The Herons have earned the National Academic Team Award in 10 of the past 11 seasons.
The National Academic Squad celebrates student-athletes who have achieved a cumulative grade point average of 3.3 or higher through the first semester of the 2013-14 academic year. The following William Smith student-athletes earned the honor this year:
Morgan Atanasio, movement science major
Lindsay Brandt, math and psychology major
Biz Chirco, political science major
Amy Feda, undeclared
Austen Gillen-Keeney, architecture major
Margaret McConnell, psychology and women’s studies major
Erin Miller, chemistry major
Kendra Napierala, English major
Lauren Stevenson, communications major
Sarah Tompson, English major
McConnell earned a spot on the NFHCA National Academic squad for the fourth straight year, while Napierala and Miller garnered the accolade for the second year in a row.
William Smith finished 2013 with a 15-5 overall record. The Herons advanced to the Liberty League tournament championship game and earned an at-large bid to the NCAA Division III Field Hockey Championship for their third consecutive and 21st overall NCAA appearance.