Coach Raymond chose 3 Captains to lead the 2015 Lacrosse Team – Hobart and William Smith Colleges \
The HWS Update

Coach Raymond chose 3 Captains to lead the 2015 Lacrosse Team

With the start of the 2015 lacrosse season right around the corner, second-year Hobart College Head Coach Greg Raymond has announced senior Zach Reed, senior Taylor Vanderbeek, and junior Cooper Stefaniak will be the captains for this year’s Statesmen.

Vanderbeek is entering his second season as captain. Last season, he produced 17 goals and three assists for 20 points in 14 games. He ranked fifth in the NEC in extra-man goals. Vanderbeek logged a season-high four goals at Wagner.

In his first year at Hobart, he was ranked third on the team in goals with 22, was the highest scoring true first-year midfielder in the nation, and was the first Division I Hobart Statesman to score 20 goals as a first-year. His work on the field earned him a spot on the ECAC All-Rookie Team, as well both the Abe Solomon Memorial Award and the Hobart Rookie Award for Lacrosse. In 41 games for the Statesmen, Vanderbeek has compiled 46 goals and 15 assists for 61 career points.

In 2014, Reed played in all 15 games and started in 13, while tallying 17 goals and seven assists for 24 points. He posted three goals and one assist against both Bryant and Wagner, and contributed two goals and two assists against No. 4 Syracuse. In his three seasons at Hobart, Reed has played in 40 games, producing 27 goals and 11 assists to give him 38 career points.

Reed has been a Dean’s List student in each of his three seasons with the Statesmen, and last season his work in the classroom earned him a spot on the NEC Academic Honor Roll.

A midfielder, Stefaniak played in all 15 games last season and started 13. He was fifth on the team in goals (14) and points (20), as well as seventh on the team in ground balls (20). He scored his first career hat trick in a win at Canisius, and posted a goal and an assist six times, including in the team’s double overtime, upset win at Saint Joseph’s in the NEC semifinals.

Stefaniak was the recipient of the 2014 Lt. John Vandeverg Memorial Award, which is presented to the player who shows the most improvement.