Lucyshyn ’19 of East Aurora Awarded Scholarship – Hobart and William Smith Colleges \
The HWS Update

Lucyshyn ’19 of East Aurora Awarded Scholarship

Teya Lucyshyn ’19, a current senior at East Aurora High School, has been named this year’s recipient of the William and Diane Green P’83, P’87 East Aurora Community Scholarship. The scholarship rewards academic excellence and leadership by providing financial assistance to students from East Aurora High School to attend Hobart and William Smith Colleges. An event to celebrate Lucyshyn and recent recipients, and to raise awareness of the scholarship and endowed fund, was hosted by HWS Trustee William Green ’83 on Thursday, April 23, at the Roycroft Inn in East Aurora, N.Y.

Selected for her outstanding academic and extracurricular accomplishments, Lucyshyn is sixth in her class of 149. She is an Advanced Placement Scholar Award recipient, president for the Class Executive Board, vice president for Student Government, treasurer for the Spirit-Club and captain of the varsity tennis team.

“I feel that HWS would be a good fit for me because of the small size of classes, academic rigor, amazing study abroad program, and friendly atmosphere,” says Lucyshyn, who plans to pursue a pre-med path when she arrives at Hobart and William Smith this fall, with the hope of attending medical school in the future.

“I was first drawn to HWS because a couple of my neighbors, friends, and friends’ siblings have gone there,” she says. “They all had wonderful things to say and made the school seem amazing. In addition to that, my school counselor spoke very highly of Hobart and William Smith and encouraged me to check it out.”

When Lucyshyn visited campus for the first time late in the summer of 2014, she “immediately loved it. The campus was stunning, the admissions staff was helpful and welcoming, and the tour guide was marvelous. It was the first college tour I had gone on purely for myself and not along with my sister. My instantaneous attraction for the campus made Hobart and William Smith one of my top choices from the start so I knew I had to apply.”

Previous recipients of the William and Diane Green P’83, P’87 East Aurora Community Scholarship include Zachary Felder ‘18, Hillary Nason ‘17, Joshua Kreeger-Smith ‘16, Elizabeth Vail ‘15, Jonathon Lawless ‘13, Jessica Tarantino ‘12, and Sarah Tarantino ‘12. They are all from East Aurora.

William and Diane Green have made their home in East Aurora, raising their four sons in the town. Given as a 50th wedding anniversary gift to the couple from their sons, William ’83, Kevin, Matthew ’87 and Andrew, the endowed scholarship is an acknowledgement of the profound impact an HWS education had on their sons. William ’83 of Charlotte, N.C., has served as a member of the HWS Board of Trustees since July 2011.

Pictured above are Matt Green ’87, P’16, Teya Lucyshyn ’19 and Bill Green ‘83 at the Roycroft Inn on April 23.