Hobart captures 10th straight Liberty League Championship – Hobart and William Smith Colleges \
The HWS Update

Hobart captures 10th straight Liberty League Championship

For the 10th consecutive season, the Liberty League Men’s Rowing Championship plaque will return to Geneva, New York. Hobart took home gold medals in the first, second, and third varsity eights and the varsity four in races held on Fish Creek Friday, April 24th.

Since the Liberty League sponsored the first men’s rowing championship in 2004, Hobart’s varsity eight has never been beaten, capturing ten consecutive gold medals. Since 2006, the conference has designated the winner of the varsity eight race as the Liberty League Champion.

With seven schools competing for the championship, the Statesmen varsity eight had to partake in a qualifying heat for the evening’s championship. In the semifinals, Sam Zuckerman, Austin Letorney, August Wherry, Robert McNamara, Julien Green, Brett Lawhon, Matthew Sylvan, W. Hunter Holtz, and Joe Biesemeyer cruised to a 10 second victory over Rochester to secure a spot in the final. Hobart and the Yellowjackets were joined in the final by Rochester Institute of Technology, St. Lawrence, Skidmore, and Union.

Two hours later in the finals, Zuckerman, Letorney, Wherry, McNamara, Green, Lawhon, Sylvan, Holtz and Biesemeyer crossed the line in first place, ensuring a 10th straight title, with a time of 6:29.07. The Tigers finished in second place, 13.69 seconds back. Rochester rounded out the top three crossing the line in 6:47.32.

Hobart collected their first gold medal of the day in the second varsity eight. Sky Drazek, Davis Muller, Tyler Steving, John Hibbard, Owen Monahan, D. Griffin Marsh, Mike Giroux, Nicholas Baca, and Milos Milosavljevic powered the Statesmen across the line with a time of 6:37.04. RIT finished in second place, 24 seconds back, and the Dutchman crossed the line third.

Hobart entered two boats in the third varsity eight race. Amanda Salzman, Patrick Ware, Nick Faiello, Jordan Rooth, Brady Phillips, Harrison Luce James Davis, Dylan Brodie, and Sam Ash the Statesmen’s third varsity eight across the line in 6:58.09. The forth varsity eight finished three seconds back.

The Hobart varsity four of James Bianco, Tyler Wilson-Menting, Jonathan Glatman, Alexander Sanford and Jordan Mueller dueled with Skidmore in the varsity four final. The Statesmen cruised to a 20 second victory, crossing the line in 8:10.02.

Hobart was back on the water Saturday, April 25th, when they traveled to Worcester, Massachusetts. The races were with Holy Cross, Williams, and Bucknell. The Statesmen second varsity eight and fourth varsity eight finished first in their respective events against crews from Bucknell, Holy Cross, and Williams.