Hobart captures 3 medals at ECAC NIRC – Hobart and William Smith Colleges \
The HWS Update

Hobart captures 3 medals at ECAC NIRC

For the third straight year, the Hobart College rowing team won three medals at the ECAC National Invitational Rowing Championships on Lake Quinsigamond. The Statesmen collected a gold medal in the second varsity eight while the varsity eight and third varsity eight added silver medals to Hobart’s haul.

This season marks the second straight year that Hobart has won a gold medal at the event. Last season at the ECAC NIRC, the Statesmen secured gold in the varsity eight, silver in the third varsity eight, and bronze in the second varsity eight.

Today the Statesmen second varsity eight qualified for the grand final by winning its morning heat over a field that included Wesleyan, Boston College, UMass Amherst, and Tufts. Hobart powered across the line with the morning’s fastest time, 6:27.968. The Statesmen and Wesleyan qualified for the grand final.

In the afternoon’s final, Hobart’s eight, powered by Sky Drazek, John Hibbard,Tyler Steving, Davis Muller, Owen Monahan, D. Griffin Marsh, Mike Giroux, Nicholas Baca and Milos Milosavljevic crossed the line first with a time 6:22.138. Hobart distanced itself from Michigan down the stretch, winning by 5.6 seconds. Bucknell rounded out the top three.

The 2014 gold medalists, the Statesmen’s varsity eight needed to finish in the top two in its heat to reach the final. Hobart left no doubt that it once again belonged in the grand final, turning in the fastest time in the heats, 6:13.384. In the grand final, the Statesmen were out sprinted by the Wolverines. Sam Zuckerman, Austin Letorney, Joe Biesemeyer, Brett Lawhon, Julien Green, Robert McNamara, Matthew Sylvan, W. Hunter Holtz, and August Wherry, powered the Statesmen down the 2000 meter course in 6:18.363, three seconds behind Michigan. The Statesmen claimed silver medals by a healthy margin over Bates who placed third.

A silver medalist in 2014, Hobart’s third varsity eight needed to be in the top three of its heat to advance to the finals. Amanda Salzman, Patrick Ware, Nick Faiello, Jordan Rooth, Dilan Bower, Harrison Luce, James Davis, Dylan Brodie and Sam Ash cruised to four second victory in their heat to advance. The Statesmen’s fourth varsity eight was also entered in the 3V event, finishing fourth.

In the grand final, Salzman Ware, Faille, Rooth Bower, Luce, Davis, Brodie, and Ash were out dueled by the Wolverine top boat. The Statesmen finished in second place, four seconds behind Michigan. The fourth varsity eight collected a seven second victory in the petite final.

The Statesmen will be back on the water at the end of the month when they travel to Mercer Lake, New Jersey for the Intercollegiate Rowing Association (IRA) National Championship. The event is scheduled for May 29-31.