Statesmen 8s compete in third level finals at IRAs – Hobart and William Smith Colleges \
The HWS Update

Statesmen 8s compete in third level finals at IRAs

The Hobart College rowing team wrapped up a successful appearance at the 2015 Intercollegiate Rowing Association National Championships on Mercer Lake this morning. All three of the Statesmen eights rowed in their respective third level finals on Sunday, May 31st.                                    

Hobart’s varsity eight, who was receiving votes in the latest USRowing Collegiate Poll, was looking to surpass last year’s 1V performance at IRAs, 19th overall. This year’s crew, powered by Sam Zuckerman, Joe Biesemeyer, Robert McNamara, John Hibbard, Austin Letorney, Matthew Sylvan, Brett Lawhon, August Wherry, and W. Hunter Holtz, guaranteed the program’s best finish in the event May 30th by qualifying for third level final.

On the May 31st final, the Statesmen were pitted against No. 13 Dartmouth, No. 14 Stanford, No. 15 Wisconsin, No. 17 Florida Institute of Technology, and No. 18 Holy Cross. The Big Green controlled the pace of the heat right from the start. Hobart, the Panthers, and the Badgers engaged in a tough battle for second place. FIT edged Wisconsin at the line for second with a time of 5:44.112. The Statesmen crossed the line fourth with a time of 5:45.662. The Crusaders finished fifth and the Cardinal placed sixth. Hobart finished 16th overall.

Not only did Hobart’s top crew post its best finish ever at the national championships, but the Statesmen also collected their 12th straight Liberty League Crew of the Year Award, when they won gold at the Liberty League Championships. The Statesmen varsity eight also won silver medals at the ECAC NIRC, the Knecht Cup and the Head of the Charles.

Hobart’s second varsity eight made its second appearance at the IRAs and was looking to improve on last year’s 21st place finish. Just like the V8, the Statesmen 2V8 qualified for today’s third level final. Sky Drazek, Milos Milosavljevic, Nicholas Baca, Owen Monahan, Julien Green, Tyler Steving, D. Griffin Marsh, Mike Giroux, and Davis Muller guaranteed the Statesmen at least an 18th place finish at this year’s regatta.

In the morning, the 2V8 took on Columbia, Navy, George Washington, Syracuse, and Oregon State. The Lions asserted their dominance in the heat, jumping out to an open water lead by the 1000m mark. Columbia cruised to a winning time of 5:51.099. The Midshipman finished second followed closely by the Colonials.  The Orange finished fourth. Hobart stopped the clock at 5:59.755 to finish in fifth place, 17th overall.

The boat’s best finish at the national championship was an exclamation point on a successful season for the second varsity eight. The 2V won gold medals at the ECAC NIRCs, the first in program history, and the Liberty League Championship. The boat also won a silver medal at the Knecht Cup.

The third varsity eight also made its second appearance in the national championship. Amanda Salzman, Patrick Ware, Nick Faiello, Harrison Luce, James Davis, Dilan Bower, Sam Ash, Dylan Brodie, and Anthony Giovenelli returned to the water after an off day on Saturday. In the third level final, the Statesmen squared off against Syracuse, Oregon State, Pennsylvania, George Washington, Drexel, and Holy Cross. The Orange cruised to a victory in the final followed by the Beavers and Quakers. The Colonials put on a strong push in the final 500m to pull away from the Dragons. Hobart crossed the line in 6:07.319 in sixth place, 18th overall. Holy Cross rounded out the field, finishing in seventh place.

The 3V won gold medals at the Liberty League Championship and the Knecht Cup and collected silver medals at the ECAC NIRC.

Hobart’s varsity eight raced in the Henley Royal Regatta, which began July 1.