Phi Beta Kappa Inducts Seniors, Juniors – Hobart and William Smith Colleges \
The HWS Update

Phi Beta Kappa Inducts Seniors, Juniors

To celebrate its newest inductees, the HWS chapter of Phi Beta Kappa honor society hosted an induction banquet earlier this month. Nominated by the current membership of faculty and staff who were a part of the honor society as undergraduates, the society’s newly elected juniors and seniors were welcomed into Phi Beta Kappa.

Selected based on college standing, academic breadth, intellectual curiosity and personal character, members of Phi Beta Kappa are among the brightest students in the nation. The most prestigious undergraduate honors organization in the nation, approximately one percent of students graduating from American colleges and universities are invited to join each year.

The seniors included: Hannah Bishop, Elizabeth Bramley, Katherine Cornell, Stephanie Cramer, Stacey Davis, Luke DeLuccia, Elizabeth Dengal, Jordyn Dezago, Lisa Ditchek, Amanda Faherty, Rachel Fechter, Morgan Gilbard, Natalia Hernandez, Grant Jones, Alana Kilcullen, Jenna Klicker, Sarah Lansaw, Yifei Li, Alison McCarthy, Emma McDowell, Matthew McPartlon, Melissa Mahajan, Caitlyn Mitchell, Megan Mohney, Julia Palmer, Danielle Pape, Alison Posey, Michelle Poulin, Aislinn Raftis, Amanda Reusch, Marco Ronning, Shoshana Saul, Shannon Savard, Avery Share, Megan Soule, Christopher Troy, Elizabeth Vail, Campbell vonEschen, Sara Winant, Hannah Wittleder and Kyle Zaverton.

Election as a junior is the highest honor the chapter can bestow on a student. HWS juniors elected this year included Joy Gitter and Mary Kathleen Burke.

Phi Beta Kappa is the oldest and most prestigious honor society in the nation. The organization recognizes academic excellence, intellectual engagement and liberal learning. Approximately 250 colleges and universities across the nation have been granted chapters.