Hobart Wins Head of the Charles – Hobart and William Smith Colleges \
The HWS Update

Hobart Wins Head of the Charles

The Hobart College rowing team won the collegiate eight event at the Head of the Charles Regatta on Sunday, Oct. 18. This is the second time in program history the Statesmen have won the event, and the fourth time they have reached the podium.

Hobart won the collegiate eight event in 2002, inaugural racing of the collegiate eight event. The Statesmen won a silver medal in 2014 and a bronze medal in 2007.

Hobart cruised to a five second victory over an elite field of 41 teams, finishing with a time of 15:32.704. The Hobart varsity eight was powered by coxswain Sam Zuckerman ’16, August Wherry ’16, Davis Muller ’16, John Hibbard ’17, Julien Green ’16, Brett Lawhon ’16, D. Griffin Marsh ’17, Alex Witt ’19 and Matthew Sylvan ’17. After finishing second last year, the Statesmen were awarded the No. 2 bow ball and passed Michigan who started 15 seconds ahead of them by the third checkpoint.

Hobart was sixth at the first and second checkpoints. Zuckerman called for a power move in the middle of the course as the Statesmen passed Michigan and turned in the fastest time at the Cambridge/BC checkpoint. With open water in front of them, the Statesmen also posted the fastest split time at the final checkpoint. The University of Delaware took home the silver medal and Williams College rounded out the podium, crossing the line 1.62 seconds behind the Fightin’ Blue Hens.

This year’s race marks the 10th consecutive year that Hobart has finished in the top 10 in the collegiate eight division at the world’s largest two-day regatta.

“The whole weekend was a celebration of Hobart rowing,” Head Coach Paul Bugenhagen said. “The varsity eight race took shape the way we planned it. The crew is fit and strong and used those attributes in the last mile to secure the victory. A win at the Head of the Charles Regatta is a big feather in any rower’s cap and I am very happy for the crew.”

The William Smith College rowing team also competed in Head of the Charles Regatta. The Heron varsity eight finished 17th out of 32 entries in the world’s largest regatta.

Hobart’s third varsity eight also competed in Sunday’s collegiate eight event. Coxswain Sky Drazek ’16, Kemal Turksonmez ’19, Dylan Bennett ’19, Anthony Giovenelli ’18, Ben Robinson ’18, Scott Hanks ’19, Steven Ives ’19, Steven Bunce ’19 and Sam Menchel’16 completed the 4800m course in 16:34.119, finishing 29th overall.

On Saturday, Oct. 17, the 2V8 competed in the Men’s Club Eight event. Julia Dexter ’17, Milos Milosavljevic ’16, Patrick Ware ’16, Dilan Bower ’18, Jordan Rooth ’16, James Davis ’16, Harrison Luce ’17, Sam Ash ’17 and Mike Giroux ’17 crossed the line 21st, completing the course in 16:14.138.

The Statesmen also entered two alumni eights in Saturday’s Men’s Alumni Eights race. Joseph Biesemeyer ’15 and Andrew Fosbrook ’10 served as strokes for the Elder Statesmen, placing 29th and 48th respectively in a field of 57 crews.

Hobart will complete their fall season on Nov. 7 when they travel to Ithaca for the Cornell Invitational.