Psi Chi Inducts 24 New Members – Hobart and William Smith Colleges \
The HWS Update

Psi Chi Inducts 24 New Members

The HWS chapter of Psi Chi, the international honor society in psychology, recently welcomed 24 new members to the organization at  an induction ceremony.

“This honor is quite significant for psychology students as Psi Chi can provide opportunities for research funding, networking and internships not provided by any other society,” says Associate Professor of Psychology Jamie Bodenlos. “Graduate schools and jobs look very favorably on a student who is a member of this international honor society.”

The elected officers, who were appointed at the induction ceremony, include Katherine Pinkes ’17, president; Bridget Nishimura ’17, vice president; Juliana Heffern ’17, secretary; and Grace Marola ’17, treasurer.

Inductees include: Jessica Bishop ’16, Samantha Bowers ’17, Sarah Brophy ’18, Andrew Coleburn ’16, Caroline Conboy ’17, Katelyn DeHart ’17, Austen Gillen-Keeney ’17, Audrey Haener ’17, Elizabeth Herbst ’17, Samantha Kearney ’17, Raphaela Kramer ’17, Kathryn Lyle ’17, Emily McDonald ’17, Jessica Nelson ’17, Elena Parkins ’18, Nina Prescott ’17, Kai Schara ’16, Jamie Wolfe ’18, Elise Wyatt ’18 and Jillian Zitoli ’17.

To be inducted into Psi Chi, a student must: be enrolled as a major or minor in a psychology program; completed at least three semesters of the college courses; completed at least nine semester hours of psychology courses; earned an overall GPA that is in the top 35 percent of his or her class in general scholarship (minimum GPA of 3.0 on a 4-point scale); and have a minimum 3.0 GPA in psychology courses.

Since the HWS chapter was established in 2014, 74 members have been inducted. The chapter is working toward a “Model Chapter” designation, which is based on consistency in membership inductions, chapter correspondence, service projects and participation in research conferences and the Psi Chi award/grants programs.