Poli-Sci Honor Society Inducts New Members – Hobart and William Smith Colleges \
The HWS Update

Poli-Sci Honor Society Inducts New Members

The Hobart and William Smith Colleges chapter of Pi Sigma Alpha, the national political science honor society, recently held its annual dinner to acknowledge its new inductees and current members.

“It was a very successful evening and a nice recognition of students who’ve done such tremendous work,” says Professor of Political Science Iva E. Deutchman, who has been the adviser of the Chi Phi chapter since it was established on campus in 1999.

Each spring, the Chi Phi chapter inducts those HWS political science majors who have demonstrated academic excellence in the field and in their general studies. Those inducted in their junior year must have a 3.7 grade point average, both in political science and in their overall GPA; for senior inductees, the cut-off is 3.5. Since its formation, the Chi Phi chapter has initiated more than 100 members.

This year’s inductees include Elliot Gudis ’17, Corinne Kenny ’17, Reid Kleinberg ’16, Mary Kubinski ’17, Clayton Lyons ’17, Veronica Mann ’17, Domenic Merolla ’16, Colleen Moore ’16, Mason O’Brien ’16, Michael Ortiz ’16 and Louis Testani ’16.

“It was a great night to celebrate achievements with my peers and professors who have helped me be so successful at HWS,” says Mann. “The professors here have sparked my interest in the field of political science through their dedication and teaching, and it is an honor to be in this nationally recognized society.”

For Gudis, “Being inducted as a junior into Pi Sigma Alpha is a great honor and privilege. I am extremely thankful to all of my professors who challenged me every step of the way to consider and test different perspectives and learn new materials, which enriched my learning experience and motivated me to put forward my best work.”

At the dinner, students were presented with plaques and regalia to wear during Commencement.