HWS Lacrosse Teams Earn NCAA Bids – Hobart and William Smith Colleges \
The HWS Update

HWS Lacrosse Teams Earn NCAA Bids

Following a pair of impressive conference title victories over the weekend, the Hobart and William Smith lacrosse teams are heading to the NCAA Division I Men’s Lacrosse Championship and NCAA Division III Women’s Lacrosse Championship, respectively.

Led by Northeast Conference (NEC) Tournament MVP Jackson Brown ’17, the Statesmen upset top-seeded Saint Joseph’s University (SJU) 11-7 to earn the conference’s automatic bid. The Hobart lacrosse team’s 26th NCAA tournament appearance will begin at Towson University on Wednesday, May 11. Faceoff at Johnny Unitas Stadium is scheduled for 4 p.m. Tickets are $10 for adults, $8 for seniors (65+), $8 for youth, $5 for students, and $5 per person for groups of 10 or more.

With the win over SJU, Hobart improved to 10-6 overall, the program’s first 10-win season since joining Division I in 1995. The Statesmen will make their fifth NCAA Division I tournament appearance and first since 2004. On the road to the NCAA tournament, Hobart upset No. 20 Bryant 7-6 in the NEC tournament semifinals.

The William Smith lacrosse team captured the 2016 Liberty League Tournament title with a 7-6 home win over Skidmore on Saturday on Boswell Field. The William Smith lacrosse team will face Roger Williams in an NCAA Division III Women’s Lacrosse Championship first round game hosted by Gettysburg College in Gettysburg, Pa., on Saturday, May 14. Check hwsathletics.com for information on game time and ticket information as it becomes available, as well as live coverage of Herons lacrosse.

The win on Saturday marked the first time the Herons have won the Liberty League Tournament championship since 2004. The Herons will be making their 18th NCAA tournament appearance and first since 2004. Roger Williams is 15-3 this season. The Hawks won their first Commonwealth Coast Conference championship to earn their spot in the tournament.

Related Links