HWS Advances to National Championship – Hobart and William Smith Colleges \
The HWS Update

HWS Advances to National Championship

The Hobart and William Smith Colleges sailing team secured a spot in the College Sailing/Gill Coed National Championship with a seventh place finish in the national semifinals in San Diego. The Colleges earned one of the Western Semifinal’s qualifying spots, finishing with 166 points.
The 36 qualifying teams were broken into two-18 team fleets, Eastern and Western. The top nine teams from each fleet advance to the championships which begin on Thursday, June 2. The winner on Friday will take home the Henry A Morss Memorial Trophy as the national champion.
Due to a wind delay on Tuesday morning, the fleets were only able to complete six races in both A and B Division. HWS sat in fifth place after the first day of racing. On June 2 both divisions completed six more races. The Colleges finished tied for sixth with Connecticut College but the Camels earned the head-to-head tiebreak. In A Division, sophomores Greiner Hobbs and Sarah Warren finished in fourth place with 80 points, seven points out of the top-three. The duo won the first race of the day and compiled six top-five finishes.
In B Division, senior Eddie Cox and sophomore Haley Okun represented HWS. They placed eighth with 86 points. Cox and Okun placed inside the top-10 in 10 of the 12 races, including a second place finish in the 11th race.
Coast Guard finished first in the Western fleet with 93 points, 43 points clear of the field. Georgetown finished second with 136 points and the College of Charleston finished third. Brown, Roger Williams, George Washington, and Pennsylvania rounded out the qualifying teams.
The Colleges return to the Coed Dinghy National Championships for the 16th time since 1996. HWS won the event in 2005 in Austin, Texas. The Colleges have finished on the podium in 1998, 2000, 2004, and 2011.