Salisbury Summer International Internship Stipend winners – Hobart and William Smith Colleges \
The HWS Update

Salisbury Summer International Internship Stipend winners

Three William Smith juniors — Jane Erickson, Linh Nguyen and Leanne Roncolato — have been selected as the three winners of the 2006 Charles H. Salisbury Summer International Internship Stipend.

Created by gifts Charles H. Salisbury, chairman of the HWS board of trustees, this fund provides financial support of up to $15,000 each for three students interested in pursuing an international internship experience in a location of the student’s choice. By supplementing classroom education with internship experience, students gain a practical understanding of the demands and rewards of future careers. Mr. Salisbury’s generosity will offer these students the opportunity to test their skills and realize their potential.

This award provides a stipend for the internship, lodging, airfare, passport/visa expenses, meals, ground travel, traveler’s insurance, and/or other expenses related to an international internship opportunity.

Erickson, from Castle Rock, Colo., will intern with the National University of Ireland's Community Knowledge Initiative, coordinating research and creating opportunities in service learning. She has been a member of the Herons lacrosse team and was an organizer of HWS Votes!, a campaign that registered 300 new voters for the 2004 presidential election. Erickson is a Richard Abbe ’92 and Michael Gantcher ’92 Scholar.

Nguyen will return to her native country, Vietnam, as a research assistant to the nation's leading scholar in women's studies, and will research the roles of men and women in Vietnam society, as they pertain to marriage and infidelity.

Roncolato, from Meadville, Pa., will intern with the International Labor Organization in Geneva, Switzerland, delving into the issues of rural work and development. She has been co-chair of the annual Take Back the Night march, and a member of the cross country team and the Latin American Organization.

They were selected from a pool of 32 applicants.