National Chemical Honor Society Inductees Named – Hobart and William Smith Colleges \
The HWS Update

National Chemical Honor Society Inductees Named

GENEVA, N.Y.—The Department of Chemistry at Hobart and William Smith Colleges is proud to announce the following students who were recently elected to Phi Lambda Upsilon, the National Honorary Chemical Society.

Seniors Kent Sinclair, from Watertown, N.Y., Rebecca Gooch, from Hamburg, N.Y., and Melissa Rappleye, from Rochester, N.Y., were recognized for their high scholarship and original investigation in pure and applied chemistry.

Phi Lambda Upsilon has been recognizing student achievement since the society was founded as an honorary chemical society in March 1899, at the University of Illinois. Phi Lambda Upsilon was the first honor society dedicated to a single scientific discipline.

Hobart College for men and William Smith College for women–private, liberal arts institutions with a combined enrollment of 1,800–are noted for both their ambitious emphasis on international study and their integrated curricular and co-curricular programs in community service. They are among the top 10 colleges in the nation in participation in off-campus programs. Hobart and William Smith are located in Geneva, at the northern tip of Seneca Lake in the heart of the Finger Lakes region of upstate New York.