HWS Awards Faculty Prizes – Hobart and William Smith Colleges \
The HWS Update

HWS Awards Faculty Prizes

July 25, 1998

Geneva, NY — Sheila K. Bennett, dean of faculty and provost at Hobart and William Smith Colleges, recently announced the recipients of the 1997-98 Faculty Prizes. Faculty prizes, voted by the members of the HWS faculty, are awarded each year for teaching and scholarship.

This year's recipients are Professors William Atwell and Jodi Dean.

Atwell, who received this year's award for excellence in teaching, came to the Colleges in 1984. A professor of history and scholar of East Asia, he received the B.A. from Washington and Lee University, the M.A. from Hawaii University, and the Ph.D. from Princeton University, where he taught before coming to HWS. In the citation announcing his award, Bennett noted that “his lectures and class discussions demonstrate a scholar's genuine interest in expanding and challenging existing knowledge…,” while at the same time “enriching the lives of his students and colleagues not only with his widely ranging knowledge, but also with his warm and caring personality.”

Dean, professor of political science, has been with the Colleges since 1993. Recipient of the faculty prize for scholarship, she has written three books in the five years she's been on the faculty at HWS. In addition, she has published several articles, appeared at numerous scholarly conventions, and in general “established a reputation as one of the freshest and most innovative, provocative, and dynamic young scholars in the nation today.” Her most recent book, Aliens in America, explores the politics of the discourse about alien abduction, and is currently in bookstores around the country. She received the B.A. from Princeton University and the M.A. and Ph.D. from Columbia University.

# # #