Colleges Honor Academic Excellence With Election of 17 to Phi Beta Kappa – Hobart and William Smith Colleges \
The HWS Update

Colleges Honor Academic Excellence With Election of 17 to Phi Beta Kappa

May 10, 2000 Geneva, NY — The Hobart and William Smith Colleges' chapter of Phi Beta Kappa recently elected 14 seniors and three juniors to membership in this national honor society.

From the Class of 2000, Zeta elected Eva Bach, Sharon Bowen, Aaron Frishman, Michael Harms, Abigail Kish, Amanda Kreusch, Jennifer Leshnower, Katherine MacNamara, Ekaterina Papaioannou, Megan Reynolds, Diana Schoeller, Sky Stanfield, Gregory Stowell, and Aaron Trenor.

In addition, Thomas Duquin, Margrethe Flanders, Maithreyi Krishnaswami and Annmarie Yannaco of the Class of 2000 were elected in their junior year.

Elected as juniors this year from the Class of 2001 were Joshua Farnum, Hannah Ford, and Rebecca Gooch.

In electing members to Phi Beta Kappa, Zeta looks for individuals who have excelled in a liberal arts curriculum. It takes into consideration several important criteria: overall grade point average for all college-level work, significant course work across the divisions of the Colleges (humanities/fine and performing arts, social sciences, and natural sciences), a commitment to learning for learning's sake, and character.

Phi Beta Kappa was created in 1776 at the College of William and Mary and is recognized as honoring the highest level of undergraduate achievement in the liberal arts and sciences. There are currently 255 chapters in the nation.

The local chapter, Zeta of New York, was the 23rd chapter, founded in 1871. Hobart and William Smith faculty and administrators who were inducted into Phi Beta Kappa at their undergraduate institutions along with students elected in their junior year at Hobart and William Smith make up the core membership of Zeta.

# # #