Phi Beta Kappa 2002 – Hobart and William Smith Colleges \
The HWS Update

Phi Beta Kappa 2002

Recently, Zeta of New York (the HWS chapter of Phi Beta Kappa) elected its 2002 members. Phi Beta Kappa is the oldest and most prestigious academic honor society in the United States. It was founded in 1776 and is known throughout the nation as the society that recognizes the best undergraduates. Our chapter was established in 1871, making Zeta of New York at Hobart and William Smith Colleges older than 90 per cent of all chapters in the nation. Zeta's membership consists of the Colleges' faculty and staff who were elected to Phi Beta Kappa at their undergraduate institutions and HWS students elected in their junior year.

Selection is based on academic achievement, breadth of learning, and intellectual engagement. New members elected in March were:

Seniors (Classes of 2002) Juniors (Classes of 2003)

Reed Harwood Aline Gadue
Jordan Kaufman Christina Mancini
Daniel Rothberg Cammie Thompson

Amber Beutel
Amy Bowen
Lindsey Paige Bowser
Stephanie Brown
Dara Cerv
Abigail Chaloux
Laura Damaske
Kimberly Gould
Kelly Heekin
Erika Keating
Emily McCarter
Madelaine Mayer
Elisa Nethercott
Mary Parkman
Laruen Rosenstock
Rachel Sutcliffe
Sarah Walker
Keara Watson
Susanna Young

The members of the Classes of 2002 who were inducted in 2001 as juniors are:

Stephen Chabot
Elizabeth Dedrick
Lindsey Dolgos
Lauren Puschkin

The newly elected members (those elected in March of 2002) will be inducted at a dinner on May 1st. There is also a reception on May 11th to honor inductees and their families.

Zeta also awards the Phi Beta Kappa Book Prize to the Hobart and William Smith sophomores who achieved the highest GPA during their first year. This year's recipients are Evan Wendel and Tana Hintz.

Congratulations to all of these remarkable students.