Hobart Hall to add 8 lacrosse greats – Hobart and William Smith Colleges \
The HWS Update

Hobart Hall to add 8 lacrosse greats

Hobart College Director of Athletics Mike Hanna recently announced the Class of 2003 to be inducted into the Hobart Athletics Hall of Fame on April 26. The 15th class of inductees is part of an 18-month celebration of the renowned Hobart lacrosse program, which completed its 100th season in 2002, as well as an overall celebration of more than 100 years of Hobart athletics. All eight members of the Class of 2003 made their mark on the lacrosse field, earning a combined 13 National Championships and 17 All-America honors.

James F. Calder ’79, of Toronto, Ontario, Mark J. Darcangelo ’83, of Freeland, Md., Edward I. Howard ’79, of Princeton Junction, N.J., John W. Snape ’54, of Old Lyme, Conn., Shawn A. Trell ’89, of Palos Verdes, Calif., Raymond W. Van Giesen ’31, of Fayetteville, N.Y., Robert D. Wynne ’94, of Salisbury, Conn., and the Rev. Joseph Leighton will raise the Hall of Fame’s roll to 82 Hobart legends.


The only World Champion among this elite group, Calder was a member of Canada’s World Championship team in 1978 and was selected to the national team again in 1982. A four-year letter winner for the Statesmen, he was a co-captain and the Judge Kane Memorial Trophy (team MVP) winner as a senior. Calder earned second-team All-American honors as a junior and moved up to the first-team a year later. He participated in the annual North-South Senior All-Star game.

The former associate director of the World Lacrosse Games (1986) and an active member of the Statesmen Athletic Association, Calder is an active member of the lacrosse community. A member of the Board of Directors of the Canadian Lacrosse Foundation, he is the driving force behind the first International Lacrosse Federation-sanctioned world indoor lacrosse championship to be held next year in Canada.


A three-time first-team All-American, Darcangelo completed his career eighth and currently ranks 16th in career points (144). With 84 career goals and 60 assists, he is 18th and 14th, respectively, on those career lists. The four-year letter winner played on the first four Division III championship teams, a streak that eventually reached 12 consecutive titles. Darcangelo earned the 1982 Joseph N. Abraham Training Award for perseverance through injury, while also garnering an invitation to the North-South game.


A member of Hobart’s first two NCAA Championships teams, Howard was a four-year letter winner and a standout defenseman. During his career, the Statesmen posted an impressive 49-8 (.860) record, including a 15-0 mark and the Division II championship in 1977. Howard earned second-team All-American honors as a junior, setting the stage for an outstanding senior season. As a co-captain in 1979, he won the Graham Award (the lacrosse team’s defensive MVP) and the Kraus Award (Hobart’s senior athlete of the year). He garnered first-team All-American accolades, and was selected to play in the North-South game. Howard also played basketball for Hobart.


The quintessential student-athlete, Snape was a three-time All-American and a member of Hobart’s Orange Key and Chimera societies, the sophomore and junior honor societies, respectively. He earned All-American honorable mention as a sophomore, and third-team accolades a year later, but saved his brightest performance for his senior campaign. A team captain in 1954, Snape received second-team All-American honors after recording 55 points, more than half of the team’s total. His 146 career points were the highest total by a Statesman at that time, and helped earn him a spot in the North-South game.


Another exceptional student-athlete, Trell was an outstanding goalie on three national championship teams, while earning Academic All-American honors from CoSIDA and Scholar All-American honors from the USILA. The two-time Division III Player of the Year (1988, ’89) initially made his mark during his sophomore season, winning the 1987 NCAA Tournament Most Outstanding Player Award. In Hobart’s three-game run through the field, Trell registered 39 saves-including 17 in the title tilt, a 9-5 win over Ohio Wesleyan. A captain during his senior season, he ranks fourth in career saves (466) and career goals against average (8.72).


A two-time honorable mention All-American, Van Giesen was a four-year letter winner and the captain of the 1931 Statesmen. An exceptional athlete, he also played football and basketball. Van Giesen remained an active member of the Colleges’ community following his graduation. His efforts on behalf of his alma mater were rewarded in 1981 with the Hobart Alumni Citation of Merit and in 1988 with the Hobart Medal of Excellence. A retired teacher and former superintendent of the Fayetteville-Manlius School District, he also coached lacrosse at FMHS.

At 96 years old, Van Giesen is the oldest member of the Class of 2003, and has opted to enter the Hall of Fame with the Class of 2002 on Oct. 5, 2002.


Wynne was a four-year letter winner in both lacrosse and football. A back-to-back first-team All-American in lacrosse, he was selected the USILA Midfielder of the Year in 1994 and participated in the North-South game. Wynne sported extraordinary prowess at the faceoff X, winning 63.2 percent of the restarts he took, including 209 wins during Hobart’s championship run in 1994. He also finished his career with 300 ground balls. The football and lacrosse teams’ MVP in 1994, Wynne, predictably, was the Kraus Award winner, as the College’s most outstanding senior athlete.


Widely recognized as the father of Hobart lacrosse, Leighton introduced the sport to the College in 1897, and served as the program’s first head coach from 1897 through 1905. The Chaplain of Hobart and a professor of philosophy from 1897 through 1910, he left Geneva to chair the philosophy department at Ohio State University. Leighton was the recipient of an honorary Hobart degree in 1913.