Hobart and William Smith Colleges Faculty Dance Concert – Hobart and William Smith Colleges \
The HWS Update

Hobart and William Smith Colleges Faculty Dance Concert

Creative collaboration between local artists and the dance department faculty, featuring live music and a number of props and stage design elements, comprises the annual Faculty Dance Concert, in styles ranging from classical ballet to modern dance.

April 11, 2003 GENEVA, N.Y.—The dance department of Hobart and William Smith Colleges will present its annual concert of dance faculty choreography at 8 p.m. Friday and Saturday, April 25 and 26, and at 2 p.m. Sunday, April 27, in the Winn-Seeley Gym Theater on the Colleges campus. Admission is $3 for HWS students, faculty, and staff, and $5 for the general public.

The concert will feature choreography by Donna Davenport, associate professor of dance; Michelle Iklé, assistant professor of dance; Cadence Whittier, assistant professor of dance; Cynthia Williams, associate professor of dance. Guest artist Kim Nofsinger, from Ohio University, will perform, as well as approximately 22 William Smith and three Hobart students.

Each year dance department faculty and invited guests create diverse choreography to be performed ranging in style from classical or contemporary ballet to modern dance and jazz dance. A brief description of each piece follows:

Drawing Us In, choreographed by Davenport opens the concert. This piece features William Smith senior Amanda Herman as a soloist and an ensemble cast of seven. The modern dance work explores the act of interpreting artist’s intentions and gleaning meaning from art.

Whittier’s contemporary ballet, Suite in Six, follows with a collection of solos, duets, and ensemble dances choreographed to contemporary composer Peter Warlock’s “Capriole.”

Quartetto is a jazz quartet choreographed by Davenport. Four William Smith students dance to music of MacTonoh and Mike Swai.

Boundless Visions–Merging, a collaboration between Davenport and Rochester mixed-media artist and composer Barbra Devine, includes five standing figures (masks mounted on birch sticks) created by Devine, who will perform her music live as Davenport dances, accompanied by four William Smith students.

Nofsinger performs his duet, At the Conjunction of Two Planets, with Iklé. They recently performed the duet at the American Colleges Dance Festival Association in Buffalo, N.Y., and at the University of Wisconsin-La Crosse.

Iklé contributes her first modern dance choreography. About struggle and highlights, wrought offers an intensely physical movement vocabulary developed by Iklé, performed by eight William Smith student dancers.

Gone Fishin’ is a light-hearted look at the trials and tribulations of love choreographed by Williams. The contemporary ballet solo was created for Whittier and enjoins classical ballet and modern dance movement performed on pointe with a Bonnie Raitt blues ballad.

Whittier’s Corporate Ladder features a cast of five William Smith and three Hobart students in a modern-dance based on corporate culture. The students dance in, with, under, and through ladders on stage to Vivaldi’s Concerto in G and Concerto for Two Cellos in G Minor.

Canticle in Darkness and Light, an ensemble choreographed for seven William Smith students by Williams, closes the concert. Violin soloist Elizabeth Keller plays Bach’s Chaccone from the Partita No. 2 in D Minor. The dance is a meditation on time and the emotional continuum that traverses hope and despair.

Tickets may be purchased at the box office one hour before curtain in the lobby of Winn-Seeley. For further information, please contact Williams, chair of the dance department, at (315) 781-3495, or e-mail williams@hws.edu.

Students dancing in the faculty dance concert include Sara Allen ’04, Toshi Ayali ’06, Meredith Boggia ’06, Anna Burns ’05, Phyllis Collins ’03, Alison Daly ’06, Kristen DeBottis ’04, Kyle Dempsey ’06, Kelly Doran ’03, Liz Figura ’05, Latifa Fletcher ’04, Amanda Herman ’03, Monicka Koneski ’03, Jessica Lambert ’06, Erin Law ’03, Emily Lutin ’05, Ali Marini ’06, Molly McAndrew ’03, Megan Moffit ’05, Lisa Nelson ’05, Binh Nguyen ’04, Dereck Norville ’06, Indrani Parker ’03, Lauren Piper ’05, Elissa Salk ’03, Jessica Skovron ’04, Alyson Spery ’06, Julie Stelzer ’03, Chevon Stewart ’04, Danielle Suffredini ’05, Colleen Wahl ’06, Josh Warr ’05, Nikki Wilbur ’04.