Hobart crew headed to IRA Championships – Hobart and William Smith Colleges \
The HWS Update

Hobart crew headed to IRA Championships

May 27, 2003 GENEVA, N.Y.–For the first time in history the Hobart College varsity eight will compete in the National Championship Varsity Eight category at the Intercollegiate Rowing Association Regatta on May 29-31 in Camden, N.J. Showcasing the top 24 crews in the country, the Statesmen will compete against schools such as Harvard, California, Washington, and Princeton. In the race May 29, the first-year four won their qualifying heat by over 8 seconds and had the fastest heat time in their event by 2.5 seconds. The varsity eight, in a tough heat that included Cal, Navy, Marist and Dowling, finished 6th. The first-year four's final is set for Saturday morning at 9:38 a.m. Depending on how they do in the semis on Friday morning, the varsity 8 will race in a final (1st-4th level) on Saturday morning around 1:20-2 p.m.

Hobart Varsity Eight

Hobart First-Year Four

“It is an honor for Hobart Crew to be selected, especially this year,” Head Coach Mike Guerrieri said. “This is the first year the IRA will be recognized as a true National Championship Regatta. It will be the most competitive IRA in history, and Hobart will be there.”

Hobart qualified after strong finishes in its previous two regattas. The Statesmen brought home gold in the varsity four competition and silver in the varsity eight at the State Championships. A the ECAC Championships the following week, Hobart posted another solid performance capturing silver in both events, with the varsity eight falling to Michigan by less than a boat-length.

Racing in the varsity eight are seniors Kevin Stevenson (South Burlington/South Burlington, Vt.) and Dave Undercoffler (Ithaca/Canandaigua, N.Y.), juniors Tyler Spence (St. Ignatius College Prep/Lake Shore, Ill.), Haviland Campbell (LaSalle/Philadelphia, Pa.), Mike Fazio (Lakeland/Mohegan Lake, N.Y.) coxswain Sarah Roberts (Burnt Hills Balltson Lake/Burnt Hills, N.Y.), and sophomores Matthew Monbouquette (Moses Brown/Warwick, R.I.), Brandon Currie (Wilsonville/Lake Oswego, Ore.), and Mike Hoepp (Choate Rosemary Hall (Bedford, N.H.).

Also selected to participate in the IRA Championship was the Hobart first-year four boat after their stellar spring season. Competing for the Statesmen in the first-year four will be c coxswain Dan Gilbert (Brighton/Rochester, N.Y.), Gavin Johnstone-Butcher (St. Paul’s School/Bulawayo, Zimbabwe), Gardner Loring (Middlesex/Duxbury, Mass.), John Michael Chadonic (The Lawrenceville School/New York, N.Y.), and Tim Faxon (Salsbury/Pelham, N.Y.).

“This year’s first-year four went undefeated in the regular season,” Guerrieri said. “They should be fun to watch as they challenge the best first-year fours in the country.”

For complete results and schedule throughout the competition you can visit http://www.row2k.com.