American Chemical Society Honors HWS Chapter – Hobart and William Smith Colleges \
The HWS Update

American Chemical Society Honors HWS Chapter

High involvement and activity of chemistry students at Hobart and William Smith Colleges receives recognition from national science society.

Oct. 11, 2002 GENEVA, N.Y.—The American Chemical Society (ACS) Student Affiliates Chapter at Hobart and William Smith Colleges has been selected to receive an honorable mention for activities conducted during the 2001-02 academic year. Awards will be granted to only 157 of the more than 950 chapters around the U.S. and Puerto Rico.

Christine de Denus, assistant professor of chemistry and faculty adviser of the local chapter, said the award is quite an honor for the chemistry students, as well as the chemistry department at Hobart and William Smith.

The local chapter has 19 student affiliates and about 30 chemistry club members. Students serving on the chapter’s governing board include: Elina Tserlin, a junior from North Bellmore, N.Y.; Leya Tesmenintsky, a junior from Ashland, Mass.; Heather Lavender, a senior from Senior Heights, Ohio; Julie Reineke, a senior from Renssealaer, N.Y.; and Julia James, a junior from Brooklyn, N.Y.

Last year, these students assisted at the Regional Undergraduate Conference, hosted by Hobart and William Smith, at which more than 50 students from nearby colleges presented their work. In addition, many of the HWS students participated in a lecture series, conducted summer research and traveled to the 2002 ACS National Meeting in Boston. The chapter also hosted several social events for its members such as barbeques, volleyball games, ice-skating parties, movie nights and bowling excursions. The group also sponsored a food drive to benefit a local food pantry.

“The American Chemical Society is delighted to have a Student Affiliates Chapter at Hobart and William Smith Colleges, and would like to thank the faculty advisers at the Colleges for fostering an environment in which such an important extracurricular educational activity can flourish,” said Eli Pearce, president of the ACS.

The award will be presented to the Colleges at the 225th ACS National Meeting in New Orleans, La., in March 2003.