4 HWS sailors earn All-American honors – Hobart and William Smith Colleges \
The HWS Update

4 HWS sailors earn All-American honors

Four sailors from the Hobart and William Smith Colleges sailing team recently were named to the Intercollegiate Sailing Association (ICSA)/Ronstan All-America teams. Seniors Ed Norton (Tabor Academy/Fair Haven, N.J.) and John Pearce (Ithaca/Ithaca, N.Y.) garnered All-American Coed Skipper praise, while senior Alexis Rubin (Edmund Burke/Potomac, Md.) and sophomore Augusta Nadler (Tabor Academy/Marion, Mass.) earned a place on the All-America Crew team.

Rubin is making her second appearance on the All-America Crew team, while Norton and Pearce moved up from the 2003 All-America Coed Skipper honorable mention team.

The quartet led the Colleges to a second place finish in the 2004 ICSA Team Race North American Championship and a third place showing in the 2004 ICSA Dinghy North American Championship this spring. Both are improvements over HWS's 2003 finishes.

With a season's less experience, the quartet helped the Colleges to fourth place in the Team Race Championship and seventh place in Dinghy Championship.

Rubin and Nadler also represented William Smith College in the 2004 ICSA Women's Dinghy North American Championship, helping the Herons to an 11th place finish in that event.

Over the past nine seasons, the Hobart and William Smith sailing team has qualified for 20 ICSA Championship events, turning in 10 top-four finishes. The Colleges have produced exceptional results over the past two seasons, qualifying for four of the ICSA's six North American championships each year, while grabbing three runner-up finishes.

Hobart and William Smith Colleges are coordinate, private, liberal arts institutions, located in Geneva, N.Y. Hobart College for men and William Smith College for women share faculty, facilities, and curriculum, but maintain separate dean's offices, athletics programs, student governments, and traditions. Hobart and William Smith field 22 intercollegiate varsity teams. Over the past 30 years, the Colleges have captured 20 national championships and dozens of conference championships.