HWS Debaters Close-Out Teams from Ivies, Others – Hobart and William Smith Colleges \
The HWS Update

HWS Debaters Close-Out Teams from Ivies, Others

Two debate teams from HWS closed out teams from Harvard, Dartmouth, Smith and Wellesley, as well as other top colleges, to bring home first and second place trophies. The tournament at Mount Holyoke College (MHC) this past weekend was only the fourth tournament that the HWS Debate Team has ever attended; all six of the Colleges' students were novices, in their first year of debating.

Approximately 60 teams (120 debaters) from 21 schools competed in the tournament. After five preliminary rounds of debate for all, the top teams go on to elimination rounds–in this case, quarter-finals. Two of the three HWS teams qualified for the quarter-finals, the first time an HWS team qualified for the elimination rounds.

The HWS team of Adam Goldstein '08 (Annapolis, Md.) and team vice-president Tyler Sandberg '06 (Riverside, Conn.) defeated a team from Wellesley College to advance to the semi-finals and a team from Smith College to advance to the final round. The HWS team of William Cox '06 (Mystic, Conn.) and team president Sandie Maroska '06 (Evanston, Ill.) defeated a team from Dartmouth College to advance to the semi-finals and a team from Harvard University to advance to the final.

Having successfully “closed out” finals at a significant debate tournament, the HWS teams chose not to debate each other in the final round, in the spirit of team unity.

“I am proud of their accomplishment beyond what my words can now express,” says Eric Barnes, coach of the HWS Debate Team and philosophy professor at the Colleges. “They have brought significant honor to Hobart and William Smith Colleges, and I hope that this is just the start of a long tradition of their success.”