HWS President Emcees Global Democracy Award in D.C – Hobart and William Smith Colleges \
The HWS Update

HWS President Emcees Global Democracy Award in D.C

Former Ambassador to Portugal receives International Women’s Democracy Center’s highest honor
(March 11, 2005) WASHINGTON, D.C.—On Wednesday, Hobart and William Smith Colleges President Mark D. Gearan served as master of ceremonies at the International Women’s Democracy Center’s annual Congressional reception that presentated the 2005 Global Democracy Award to the former U.S. Ambassador of Portugal Elizabeth Frawley Bagley.

In 1994, Bagley was appointed as Ambassador by President Bill Clinton, making her the youngest American female ambassador and the first woman to serve as Ambassador to Portugal. She remained in that position until 1997. During Wednesday’s (March 9) presentation, Gearan introduced Senator John F. Kerry, who presented the award, and praised Bagley for her generosity and dedication to women empowerment around the world. Other guests included Congresswomen Nancy Pelosi and Carolyn McCarthy, Senators Frank Lautenberg and Kenneth Salazar, and Chris Matthews of NBC.

“Elizabeth Bagley is devoted to strengthening the role of women in leadership positions around the world and very much embodies the spirit in which this award is presented,” said Gearan, the former director of the Peace Corps and top aide during the Clinton administration.

Bagley, of the District of Columbia, is an attorney and was an adjunct professor of law at Georgetown University Law Center. She served in the Department of State for four years during the Carter Administration in the Office of Congressional Relations and as a special assistant to Ambassador Sol Linowitz on the Camp David Accords’ negotiations over Palestinian autonomy.

A native of Elmira, N.Y., Bagley holds a bachelor’s degree from Regis College and a J.D. degree from Georgetown University Law School.

The Global Democracy Award is presented yearly to women who embody IWDC’s commitment to strengthen women’s global leadership. The award is given in honor of Mara Elena Moyano, a Peruvian activist who spent most of her life working to help women take on local government positions. She was assassinated by the Communist Party in 1992.