Koshare 2006 Dance Concert – Hobart and William Smith Colleges \
The HWS Update

Koshare 2006 Dance Concert

Performance to showcase dance works of many genres

Salsa, modern, ballet, pointe, lyrical, jazz, reggae, hip hop, Indian and belly dancing will be enjoyed at this year’s Koshare Dance Concert, with more than 140 students rendering 23 delightfully diverse dances.

Koshare is a club that has been in existence for more than 65 years at Hobart and William Smith, each year aspiring to present a concert that is organized, produced, choreographed and danced by the students.

“Working together to choreograph, dance in, and manage the technical aspects of the show brings an astonishing range of individual talents together. Koshare is a unique part of our campus community, and something that both past and current members take great pride in having been part of,” said Anna Comerford ’07, a member of Koshare’s board.

The 2006 concert will be presented at 8 p.m. on Friday, Nov. 10, and at 2 and 8 p.m. Saturday, Nov. 11, in the Winn-Seeley Theater. Admission is free. The event, which traditionally fills to capacity, runs approximately two hours including a 10-minute intermission. On Friday night directly following the concert, a reception will be held in the Heron Hall of Honor, where audience members can talk with participants over refreshments.

Michelle Iklé, faculty advisor for Koshare, has invited faculty, staff and administrators to the students’ dress rehearsal at 7 p.m. on Thursday, Nov. 9 in the Winn-Seeley Theater.

“Everyone has a unique way of expressing themselves through dance. Koshare provides an opportunity for a large contingent of the HWS student body to add their voices to the movement dialogue. Everyone is always impressed by the abundance of student talent in our midst,” Comerford said. “All of the dancers and choreographers have worked extremely hard this year, and we hope the campus community will come out and enjoy our concert.”

Koshare board members include Comerford, Jessica Zippin ’07, Lindsey Farrell ’08, Cara Bishop ’08, Marissa Willsey ’08 and Salome Donenfeld ’09.