Acknowledging Scholarly Excellence – Hobart and William Smith Colleges \
The HWS Update

Acknowledging Scholarly Excellence

More than 150 members of the Classes of 2007 honored for Academic Achievement

On Saturday morning, May 12, students and their families gathered in Albright Auditorium for the Academic Achievement Awards Ceremony. The event, occurring just a day before Commencement, highlighted the impressive academic accomplishments of the Classes of 2007.

Colleges’ President Mark D. Gearan delivered opening remarks that paid tribute to the faculty, “men and women who have given their lives to teaching. In response to his words, the students gave a standing ovation in honor of their professors.

Gearan also emphasized the value of mentorship. “My fondest hope, he said “is that you find a mentor … and secondly, that you will use your considerable talents to become a mentor. We expect much from you.

The Technos International Prize, the first award to be presented, went to Liane Gray ’07 and Adam Chaput ’07. The award is given by Technos College and the Tanaka Ikueikai Educational Trust of Tokyo in recognition of outstanding academic achievement and contributions to furthering international understanding and exchange.

The Colleges’ honors program was also recognized and certificates were given to the 20 students who completed the rigorous coursework successfully.

“The process is arduous and demanding with moments of doubt, but also with many moments of discovery and even exhilaration, said David Craig, professor of chemistry and chair of the Honors Committee.

Judith McKinney, of the Economics and Russian Area Studies faculty, inducted members into Phi Beta Kappa. McKinney, who also serves as president of the Colleges’ chapter, welcomed three juniors and 19 seniors with memberships.

“The Society’s first goal, recognizing academic excellence, is what brings us here today, said McKinney, who noted that nationally, only one percent of undergraduates is invited to join the prestigious organization.

At the conclusion of the event, Provost Teresa Amott awarded Latin praise, “the highest recognition the faculty can bestow on a student for general academic excellence during his or her college career, to more than 100 students. The Deans of Hobart and of William Smith respectively, Eugen Baer and Debra DeMeis, read the names of each graduate so honored.