Moore tabbed College Sailor of the Year – Hobart and William Smith Colleges \
The HWS Update

Moore tabbed College Sailor of the Year

Hobart senior Trevor Moore was recently named the winner of the Everett B. Morris Trophy as the College Sailor of the Year. Moore was also named an Inter-Collegiate Sailing Association All-American skipper, while William Smith senior Amanda Markee was tabbed an All-American crew.

Moore, a three-time All-American, is the first Statesman to win the Morris Trophy. He competed in seven ICSA National Championship events, including the Colleges’ 2005 Team Race and Coed Dinghy National Championships.

This season, he finished second in the ICSA Men's Singlehanded National Championship, helped HWS take third in the ICSA Team Race National Championship, and, with Markee as his crew, placed second in the A Division of the ICSA Coed Dinghy National Championship.

Moore was the sailing team’s Rookie of the Year in 2004 and its Most Valuable Sailor the past two years. He is also the only sailor ever to win Hobart's Francis L. “Babe” Kraus '24 Memorial Award as the College's most outstanding senior athlete.

The Morris Trophy is awarded annually to the College Sailor of the Year. The trophy is named in memory of a distinguished journalist who spent more than 30 years, most of them with The New York Herald Tribune, as a yachting writer and editor. He was also actively involved in sailing programs and activities including service as president of the Junior Sailing Association of Long Island Sound.

A two-time All-American, Markee was a starting crew for both the 2005 ICSA Team Race and Dinghy National Championship teams. She competed in six national championship events during her career.

At the 2007 William Smith Awards banquet, Markee was honored with the Athletic Department's Evaleen C. Harrison ’19 Scholar-Athlete Award and the sailing team's Ady Symonds ’96 Most Valuable Sailing Award.

Since 1996, Hobart and William Smith sailors have earned 40 ICSA All-American awards.