Two William Smith Teams Host Liberty League Championships – Hobart and William Smith Colleges \
The HWS Update

Two William Smith Teams Host Liberty League Championships

This weekend, William Smith sports fans can cheer for two top-ranked Herons teams. Ranking first in Liberty League field hockey, the Herons go into the Liberty League Championships with a stellar 13-4 record. As if their record wasn’t enough to scare their competition, the Herons field hockey players have earned impressive recognitions, including 2007 Liberty League Player of the Year for Brittney Paye ’08, the three-time Liberty League Defensive Performer of the Week and the one-time ECAC Division III Goalkeeper of the Week for Katie DeKraker ’09 and Liberty League leader in goals and points for Kaitlyn Hamilton ’10.

Paye, DeKraker and Hamilton along with the entire top-seeded Herons field hockey team will take the field against No. 4 Union on Friday, Nov. 2 at 11 a.m. on McCooey Field. At 2 p.m, No. 2 St. Lawrence and No. 3 Skidmore will tangle in the second semifinal game on McCooey Field.

The winners will meet in the championship match on Nov. 3 at 1 p.m. Fans who can’t attend the matches in person can watch all of the action online at

On the nearby Cozzens Field, the Herons soccer team will square off in another 2007 Liberty League Championship Tournament. Entering with a record of 15-0-1, the William Smith soccer team includes 2007 Liberty League Women’s Soccer Player of the Year Tracy Stankavage ’08 and Rookie of the Year Brelynn Nasypany ’11.

The top-ranked Herons soccer team will take on No. 4 Skidmore in the first semifinals game on Friday, Nov. 2, at 11 a.m. No. 2 Hamilton will play No. 3 Union later that day at 1:30 p.m. The winners of both games will face off in the championship game on Saturday, Nov. 3 at Noon.

Admission is free to all soccer and field hockey games.