Heron Hoops Headed to New Jersey – Hobart and William Smith Colleges \
The HWS Update

Heron Hoops Headed to New Jersey

The No. 20 William Smith College basketball team will travel to Union, N.J., for the sectional round of the NCAA Tournament. The Herons will square off with No. 24 Oglethorpe University at 5:30 p.m. on March 14 in Harwood Arena on the campus of Kean University.

Tickets are $7 for adults, $4 for children (3 and up), students, and senior citizens.

William Smith is led by 2008 Liberty League Player of the Year, senior guard Marisa Vespa (Immaculate Heart/Watertown, N.Y.). She is averaging 12.6 ppg, 6.2 apg, and 3.4 spg.

Sophomore forward Erin Cunningham is second on the team in both scoring (10.6) and rebounding (5.7) and will be playing a virtual home game. The two-time All-Liberty League pick and Garden State native hails from Rockaway, N.J., which is less than 30 miles from Harwood Arena. As a senior at Morris Knolls High School, Cunningham averaged 15.5 ppg and was named second-team All-Area by the Daily Record.

Senior forward Stephanie Czajkowski (Bishop Ludden/Syracuse, N.Y.) is contributing 10.5 ppg and a team-high 6.3 rpg, while junior guard Latasha Coney (Lyons/Lyons, N.Y.) is adding 10.5 ppg and 5.2 rpg.

The Stormy Petrels (25-5) are paced by SCAC Player of the Year, junior guard Katie Kulavic. The three-time first team All-SCAC pick averages 17.2 ppg, 5.1 rpg, 3.2 apg, and 2.0 spg, while shooting a team-leading .594 from the floor, .355 from three-point range, and .822 from the line.

Second-team All-SCAC guard Anna Findley, also a junior, is contributing 14.9 ppg and leads the team in three-point shooting (73-205, .356), free throw shooting (.885), and steals (3.5). Junior forward Tina Grace is the third Petrel in double digits, scoring 11.5 per night, while collecting 5.6 rebounds.

The host Cougars (27-3) will square off in the other semifinal against the University of Chicago (22-5) at 7:30 p.m.

The winners of Friday’s sectional semifinals will meet at 6 p.m. on March 15 for a trip to the championship round in Holland, Mich.