Johnson ’77 Receives Goergen Award – Hobart and William Smith Colleges \
The HWS Update

Johnson ’77 Receives Goergen Award

The University of Rochester has presented its Goergen Awards for excellence in undergraduate education in the College. James Johnson, associate professor of political science, received the Goergen Award for Distinguished Achievement and Artistry in Undergraduate Education.

Johnson was cited for his approach that challenges students and “leads the class to raise questions and criticism about readings.” A faculty member at Rochester since 1992, he teaches courses in political theory. Johnson was a visiting scholar at the Russell Sage Foundation for 2002-2003, is co-editor of the Journal of Theoretical Politics, and is on the editorial board for American Political Science Review. Johnson received his B.A. in urban studies from Hobart in 1977.

The Goergen Awards are presented at the annual College Convocation, the ceremony marking the start of the academic year. They were first presented in 1997 and are named for and sponsored by trustee and former board chairman Robert B. Goergen '60 and his wife, Pamela.