+ philosophy – Hobart and William Smith Colleges \
The HWS Update

Stephen Ponticiello ’21 will attend Cornell Law School in the fall to study medical malpractice law.

This spring, the HWS Debate team hosted the HWS Round Robin, a major tournament on the international circuit.

This semester the HWS Debate Team welcomed in a robust class of 14 novice debaters, defined as those in their first year of collegiate debate. Despite COVID-19 restrictions, the team met three times a week and used social distancing classroom learning as well as online practice schedules to learn the ropes and prepare for an

Reed Herter ’22 is finishing a first term as president of the HWS Debate Team. While this role requires a lot of time and dedication, Herter has taken it upon themself to promote debate excellence for HWS Debate as well as the broader debate community. Herter stands among the top students in the North American

Despite the global pandemic forcing tournaments to move online, the HWS Debate squad has continued to show they are very competitive against the strongest schools on the North American circuit. The HWS varsity squad started and ended the first semester of the 2020-2021 debate season with strong showings. HWS Debate advanced two teams to elimination

This past weekend the HWS Debate Team made history when they hosted the first online United States University Debate Championships (USUDC). The tournament was originally scheduled to be in person before the rise of COVID-19 and is one of the most prestigious competitions in the country. The team, led by Tournament Director and Team President

HWS Debate once again showed its caliber as Sarim Karim ’22 and Sreyan Kanungo ’23 ranked in the top six teams competing in a tournament hosted by the Malaysian Institute for Debate and Public Speaking. The event was held online. The HWS pair competed in five preliminary rounds in the Youth Debate Open and finished as

Six members of the William Smith College rowing team were recently named Scholar-Athletes by the Collegiate Rowing Coaches Association. It’s the most Herons honored by the CRCA since six were recognized in 2015. To become a CRCA Scholar-Athlete, student-athletes must be in their second, third or fourth year of eligibility, be ranked performance-wise in the

The 2020 HWS Round Robin will take place on Sept. 12-13. The annual event, which brings together an elite, internationally diverse group of debaters and adjudicators, will be conducted virtually using the online speech and debate service Yaatly. Competing this year will be teams from Cambridge University, Harvard University, Stanford University, Yale University, the Philippines,

Hobart College sailor Kyle Easton ’20 is the 2020 Robert H. Hobbs Sportsmanship Award winner as announced by the Intercollegiate Sailing Association over the weekend. Graduating with a B.A. in economics, he is the first Statesman to win the national award. Easton was also this year’s MAISA Sportsperson of the Year and Hobart’s Joe Arnitz ’66 Memorial