+ Vincent – Hobart and William Smith Colleges \
The HWS Update

Vincent to lead Alabama’s oldest private and historically black liberal arts college. Gregory J. Vincent ’83 has been named the 21st President of Talladega College. An acclaimed civil rights attorney, professor and former HWS President, Vincent currently serves as the Executive Director of the University of Kentucky Civil Rights and Education Initiative in collaboration with

Gregory J. Vincent ’83, acclaimed civil rights attorney, professor and former HWS President, will direct a new diversity leadership program at the University of Kentucky, where he also heads a groundbreaking collaboration between the university and the NAACP. Gregory J. Vincent ’83 was recently named director for the Senior Diversity Officer Leadership Graduate Certificate program at

Student entrepreneurs and their innovative business plans went head-to-head in the final round of the 2018 Stu Lieblein ’90 Pitch Contest on March 1, when winner Andrew Silard ’18 secured a $10,000 grant to fund his start-up Revolve, a social media crowdfunding platform for non-profit organizations. With a standing-room only audience of everyone from the

President Gregory J. Vincent ’83 has been named by the National Collegiate Athletic Association (NCAA) to serve on the NCAA Division III Chancellors/Presidents Advisory Group. Vincent’s term of service will run until the January 2020 NCAA Convention. Vincent joins 22 other presidents and chancellors from across the nation in advising the Division III Presidents Council,

For the third year in a row, Hobart and William Smith have been recognized as one of the nation’s top colleges and universities with the most recipients of U.S. Fulbright Student Awards. In the past three years, there have been 18 Fulbright recipients; the four most recent recipients are Sara DeVault-Feldman ’17 (Vietnam), Juliana Heffern

For the second consecutive year, Hobart and William Smith rank No. 4 nationally among small schools on the Peace Corps’ 2018 “Top Volunteer-Producing Colleges and Universities” list. There are 14 HWS alums currently volunteering worldwide; more than 225 have served since the agency’s founding in 1961. “From our talented students to our dedicated alums, Hobart

Brandy Vargas ’20 has been awarded a Campus Compact Newman Civic Fellowship for 2018. This prestigious honor is given to students who work to find solutions for challenges facing their community. The fellowship, named for Campus Compact founder Frank Newman, provides training and resources that nurture students’ assets and passions and help them develop strategies

The Hobart and William Smith Colleges Board of Trustees, upon recommendation of President Gregory J. Vincent ’83, approved tenure and promotion to the rank of Associate Professor to 13 faculty members, and awarded tenure to Associate Professor of Mathematics and Computer Science Joseph Rusinko. Effective July 1, 2018, Assistant Professors Jeffrey Blankenship (Art and Architecture);

President Gregory J. Vincent ’83 – a national leader on civil rights, social justice and campus culture –recently served as the keynote speaker at two forums addressing issues of equity, justice and race in Akron, Ohio. As featured speaker of the celebrated Akron Roundtable, Vincent delivered the keynote address “Memory and Monuments in the Public

President Gregory J. Vincent ’83 has been named an emeritus trustee of the National Council of The Ohio State University Moritz College of Law, a designation reserved for trustees most engaged with the college. Vincent, who earned his law degree from Moritz in 1987, has served on the council since 2008. “It has been a