Cross Country Championships – Hobart and William Smith Colleges \
The HWS Update

Cross Country Championships

The Cross Country Only Conference Championships will return to Seneca Lake State Park on Saturday, Oct. 19. The 6-kilometer women’s championship begins at 11 a.m. followed by the 8k men’s championship at noon.

The conference championship meet was founded by former William Smith Head Cross Country Coach Jack Warner in 2005 for schools that sponsor cross country, but not track and field. This year’s CCOC field will include teams from Hobart, William Smith, Cazenovia, Clarkson, D’Youville, Elmira, Hilbert, Medaille, Morrisville and Villa Marie.

In the women’s field, Clarkson is the four-time defending champion. The Golden Knights have won five CCOC titles (2005, 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018), one more than William Smith (2006, 2010, 2011, 2012).

The Herons are led by sophomore Ruby Auman. She has led William Smith to the finish line in each of the team’s past two races, finishing 20th at Hamilton on Oct. 5. Auman posted her top 6k time of the season on Sept. 28 at the Mike Woods Invitational, stopping the clock at 25:08.2.

On the men’s side, Clarkson is the defending champion. The Golden Knights have won seven of the past nine CCOC crowns and nine championships altogether since 2005.

The Statesmen are paced by senior Josh Wasserman and first-year Jacob Appleton. Wasserman won the Alfred Invitational on Sept. 7 and logged his best 8k time of the season, 28:00.7, at the Mike Woods Invitational. Appleton was second to Wasserman at Alfred and ran the Hamilton Invitational in 27:00.7 for his best 8k of the season.