Day in the Life

Yalemwork Teferra ’21

graphic

My name is Yalemwork Teferra and I am from Washington, D.C. I am a junior at the Colleges majoring in International Relations with a double minor in Economics and Africana Studies. On campus, I am co-president of Sankofa, co-president of Model African Union, and work in the Office of Admissions, Office of Communications and the Intercultural Affairs Center. I studied abroad in Ghana for a J-term, and this spring studied in Aix en Provence, France. Although my time was cut short due to the coronavirus outbreak, it was a phenomenal experience.

Student

Here is an overview of a typical Tuesday for me while in France:

8 a.m. — Go for a run at Parc Rambot, then get ready for the day.

graphic

9:45 a.m. – Grab an espresso and chocolate croissant from my favorite bakery next to my school, IAU College. The croissants were the flakiest, most buttery croissants I have ever had.

10 a.m. – French class. During my first week of class I was already speaking more comfortably in class and in town with locals.

11:30 a.m. – My “French Colonialism in the Middle East and North Africa” class. I studied the history of Islam and the Ottoman Empire, as well as the French conquest and later Algerian, Moroccan and Tunisian independence. It was important to me to learn more about the colonial history of France while studying abroad there, further expanding my IR and Africana Studies at HWS.

1 p.m. – Check out the outdoor market and sample some delicious produce from local farmers. They had the sweetest fruit, cheeses, olives, nut butters and honey. (On Fridays, I also went to the market with my “Wine and Food Pairing for the Sommelier” class to build a charcuterie board to accompany that day’s wine).

2 p.m. - I take the scenic walk to art class. Every day I passed the mountain where Cezanne famously painted and beautiful parks.

graphic

4 p.m. – Walk back to town (The French walk everywhere which I didn’t mind because it was beautiful, and the walk was a great way to enjoy and soak up my surroundings. It let me slow down and just be present).

4:30 p.m. – Do homework and catch up on emails at a cafe (with another croissant of course!)

6:30 p.m. A pre-dinner pastry and aperitif with friends!

7:30 p.m. – Dinner with my host family, my favorite part of the day. I practice my French and the dinner is filled with laughs and sharing stories, as well as many questions about life in the U.S.

9 p.m. – I FaceTime my friends and family back home, as well as catch up with some of my friends who are abroad in New Zealand, South Africa and London.

graphic

10 p.m. – My host mom loves jazz and plays some classics before bed. I read a book, chat with my host sister or watch Netflix.

.

Overall, my abroad experience was amazing. I soaked up as much French art, pastries, food, wine and culture as I could. I am definitely going back and am so thankful for HWS Abroad for my experience! HWS makes it so easy for students to go abroad with 60% of students studying abroad. Although cut short, it served as an invaluable part of my college experience.

Best,
Yalemwork

Request Information

Submit the form below to begin your own HWS journey. As a thank you for your interest in Hobart and William Smith, we’ll send a laptop sticker to the address included on the form.

Loading...