Flowers Honored by Boys & Girls Club – Hobart and William Smith Colleges \
The HWS Update

Flowers Honored by Boys & Girls Club

At its 23rd annual dinner, the Boys & Girls Club of Geneva honored Director of the Center for Community Engagement and Service Learning (CCESL) Katie Flowers with the 2019 Friend of Geneva Public Service Award.

Katie Flowers 2.5Presented to a member of the community in appreciation for service to the families of Geneva, the award is given by the Boys & Girls Club with consultation from Geneva Mayor Ronald Alcock and Geneva Town Supervisor Mark Venuti. Previous winners include Mary Luckern, recipient of the 2017 HWS President’s Medal, and Rebecca “Bex” Czajkowski ’18, MAT ’19.

At the Oct. 17 dinner, Boys & Girls Club Executive Director Christopher Lavin ’81 described Flowers as “the embodiment of what it can mean to both the Colleges and the people of this community to work together” before recounting the many programs she oversees, including America Reads, Geneva Reads, Days of Service, Summer University, Summer of Service Internships and Tutor Corps. “Katie’s hard work has been transformative for Geneva,” Lavin said.

Flowers thanked former honorees, the board and staff of the Boys & Girls Club of Geneva and her family and friends. “I am fortunate to have found myself in this community, working at Hobart and William Smith Colleges and in partnership with the Boys & Girls Club of Geneva,” she said.

Flowers also spoke about the impact of HWS students volunteering at the club, noting that “they gain valuable work experience — but more importantly, the connections they form with Geneva’s kids anchor them in significant ways to the community, and our campus is better for it.”

Lavin also discussed the important role Hobart and William Smith students — guided by Flowers and her staff at CCESL — play in Geneva as engaged citizens. “The talent, energy and resources those students inject into this community are as distinguishing a characteristic as the lakes, wineries and farms that surround us on a map,” he said.

Joining Lavin in presentating the award to Flowers were Lavin, Venuti and former Interim President and Professor Emeritus of Economics at HWS Patrick A. McGuire L.H.D. ’12.

Flowers joined CCESL in 2004 and was named director of the center in 2009.