From St. John’s Chapel to Reunion – Hobart and William Smith Colleges \
The HWS Update

From St. John’s Chapel to Reunion

Anderegg142Jean Sutherland Anderegg ’67 put on a white dress and went to St. John’s Chapel to marry Dick Anderegg ’67 the day after their graduation from the Colleges. On June 2, the couple returned to Geneva to celebrate their 50th Reunion and their 50th anniversary, recognized during a dinner for their Classes at the home of President Mark D. Gearan and Mary Herlihy Gearan.

“Fortunately for us, Dick’s mother saved a lot of things, including the decorative top of their wedding cake. So 50 years later, they brought it back,” President Gearan said in a toast to the couple.

As newlyweds, the Andereggs’ wedding reception consisted of a gathering of friends who enjoyed cake and beer at Hillcrest House— a choice made with the knowledge that the day following graduation might be the easiest time to convene all of their friends in one meaningful place: Hobart and William Smith.

“Seeing the Colleges thrive is really important to both of us. It’s so gratifying to return to the Colleges and see that our friends have aged just as much as we have,” said Jean. “Fifty years is monumental. We wanted to celebrate.”

The couple renewed their vows on June 3 in St. John’s Chapel in a ceremony officiated by Rev. Alden B. Flanders ’67, P’00, with the Dick’s best man Toby Pugh ’67, Elizabeth Baker, Ed Smith ’67 and Sarah Duffy returning to serve as witnesses. “I guess that is called going full circle,” Jean says.

Following graduation, Dick served for 30 years in the U.S. Air Force as a fighter pilot, a career that took him all over the world. He is the author of The Ash Warriors, a history of the Mount Pinatubo eruptions and subsequent evacuation of Clark Air Base, and Sierra Hotel, a history of cultural changes in the U.S. Air Force following the Vietnam War.

Jean, a graduate of University of Pittsburgh’s non-profit management certification program, is the former director of development for Habitat for Humanity of Northern Virginia. She has served for five  years as the chair of the Air Force Arlington Ladies, for which she won Chief of Staff of the Air Force Public Service Award in 2016.