Gilbertson Named Scholar All-American – Hobart and William Smith Colleges \
The HWS Update

Gilbertson Named Scholar All-American

Hobart College senior defensive midfielder Stanny Gilbertson was named a 2019 Scholar All-American by the U.S. Intercollegiate Lacrosse Association. He is the 10th Statesmen to earn Scholar-All-American recognition since 1989.

A Scholar All-American must be nominated by his coach and be a student with a senior year academic standing and a minimum cumulative grade point average of 3.0 on a 4.0 scale. He will have behaved in a manner that has brought credit to himself, his institution, and to college lacrosse both on and off the field. He must also be an All-American, a member of a North/South team, or an outstanding league or conference player. Each nominee is evaluated on a case-by-case basis by the Scholar All-America committee.

From Palos Verdes, Calif., Gilbertson graduated last month with a bachelor’s degree cum laude in economics. He was named to the Northeast Conference Academic Honor Roll in each of his four seasons. Gilbertson was tabbed an Arthur Ashe Jr. Sports Scholar in each of his final two seasons, earning the distinction of Arthur Ashe Jr. Men’s Lacrosse Scholar Athlete of the Year in 2018.

A 2019 USILA North-South All-Star, Gilbertson played in 59 career games, accumulating 18 goals, nine assists, 62 ground balls and 11 caused turnovers. He enjoyed his finest season on the field this year, producing 10 goals, four assists and 23 ground balls, all career highs. A 2019 All-NEC first team selection, Gilbertson matched his season-high with two points and collected a career-high matching four ground balls at Saint Joseph’s.

Gilbertson and his teammates compiled an 11-5 overall record this season, the most wins in a season since the program joined Division I in 1995. Hobart was 4-2 in the NEC, finishing second in the league standings. The Statesmen reached the NEC Tournament Championship game for the third time in four seasons thanks to a 14-13 win over Sacred Heart. The team came up just short of securing its second league title in four years, falling 11-10 to Robert Morris in the championship game.