HWS Advances to Championships – Hobart and William Smith Colleges \
The HWS Update

HWS Advances to Championships

The Hobart and William Colleges sailing team secured a spot in the in the College Sailing Gill Coed National Championships with a third place finish in the national semifinals in Charleston Harbor. The Colleges earned one of the Eastern Semifinal’s nine qualifying spots, finishing with 154 points.

The 36 qualifying teams were broken into two 18-team fleets, Eastern and Western. The top nine teams from each fleet advance to the championships which began June 1. The winner on Friday will take home the Henry A. Morss Memorial Trophy as the national champion.

Light winds on Day 1 forced two delays to the day’s racing. In total, teams completed six races in A Division and four races in B Division. HWS ended the day tied with Boston University for fifth place with 63 points. Dartmouth led the way with 55 points. Today sailors completed six races in A Division and eight races in B Division.

Junior Greiner Hobbs and first-year Anna Flaherty represented the Colleges in A Division, finishing tied with the University of Rhode Island with 78 points. The Rams were awarded third place thanks to the head-to-head tiebreaker. Hobbs and Flaherty finished in the top-10 in all but one race.

First-years Hector Guzman and Maya Weber tied for fourth in B Division with Boston University with 76 points. HWS was awarded fourth place thanks to the head-to-head tiebreaker over the Terriers. Guzman and Weber placed inside the top-10 in nine of the 12 races, winning two.

The College of Charleston finished first in the eastern fleet with 130 points, 17 points clear of the field. George Washington took second with 147 points seven ahead of HWS. Merchant Marine, Fordham, Stanford, Roger Williams, Hampton, and Boston University rounded out the qualifying teams.

The Colleges return to the Coed Dinghy National Championships for the 17th time since 1996. HWS won the event in 2005 in Austin, Texas. The Colleges have finished on the podium in 1998, 2000, 2004, and 2011.