HWS captures America Trophy – Hobart and William Smith Colleges \
The HWS Update

HWS captures America Trophy

The Hobart and William Smith Colleges sailing team captured the Middle Atlantic Intercollegiate Sailing Association Coed Fleet Race Championship with a win at the America Trophy hosted by Cornell this weekend. It’s the Colleges first America Trophy since 2006 and their eighth overall. HWS has now won 17 MAISA Championships.

The Colleges won the America Trophy by 29 points, finishing the weekend with 129. Navy was second with 158 and Fordham finished third with 196. Georgetown, George Washington, St. Mary’s College of Maryland, Hampton, Old Dominion, and the Merchant Marine Academy rounded out the top nine, earning a spot in the ICSA Gill Coed Dinghy National Championships May 30-June  2, in Charleston, S.C.

First-years Hector Guzman, and Maya Weber and senior Adam Schaefer won B Division with 52 points. Guzman sailed with Weber in races 1-12 and Schaefer in races 13-15. The trio earned 12 top-five finishes in the 18-team field, including three victories. The Hoyas finished second in the division with 74 points.

Junior skipper Greiner Hobbs and first-year crew Anna Flaherty teamed up for A Division racing, finishing second behind the Midshipmen. Hobbs and Flaherty posted 14 top-10 finishes, including wins in the third and ninth race.

Following the weekend’s racing, Guzman and Hobbs were selected as 1st Team All-MAISA Skippers while Flaherty and Weber were selected as All-MAISA Crew. They join sophomore Bailey Carter, who was named 1st team All-MAISA Women’s Skipper following the women’s conference championship regatta last weekend, on the all-conference teams. This is the second straight year that Hobbs and Carter have earned all-conference honors, both were second team last year.

HWS has now qualified for all three national championships. The Herons will compete in the Sperry/ICSA Women’s Semifinals May 23-26. The Colleges will compete in the LaserPerformance College Sailing Team Race National Championships May 27-29 and the Gill Coed Dinghy National Championships.