HWS Seeks Prosser Trophy – Hobart and William Smith Colleges \
The HWS Update

HWS Seeks Prosser Trophy

The Hobart and William Smith Colleges sailing team will be back in action this weekend, April 6-7, competing in a pair of regattas. The seventh-ranked team racing squad will be in St. Mary’s City, Md., for the Prosser Trophy. William Smith, which was ranked fourth in the latest Gill College Sailing Women’s Poll, will be in New London, Conn., for the Wick Trophy.

The Prosser Trophy serves as the Middle Atlantic Intercollegiate Sailing Association Team Race Championship. The Colleges qualified for the Prosser Trophy based off of their finishes in this season’s regattas associated with the MAISA Team Race League. HWS won the Prosser Trophy in 2005 and 2006.

This year, HWS will compete for the Prosser Trophy against No. 3 Georgetown, No. 8 Navy, No. 12 George Washington, Fordham, Old Dominion, Cornell, and the host St. Mary’s College. The Hoyas, the Midshipmen, the Colonials, the Rams, and the Monarchs earned a spot in the conference championship based off their finish in the MAISA Team Race League. The Big Red and Seahawks earned a spot at the Prosser Torphy last Saturday, March 30, thanks to a 1-2 finish at the Team Race Challenge.

HWS was third at last year’s Prosser Trophy hosted by Cornell. The Colleges were 15-6 on the weekend and earned a qualifying spot at the national championships. Greiner Hobbs ’18, Charlie Miller, and Hector Guzman served as skippers for the Colleges and Haley Okun ’18, Chris Manson-Hing, Lindsay Kloc, Maya Weber, Kyle Eason and Russell Merchant competed as crew. HWS finished the weekend tied with George Washington but the Colonials were awarded second place because they were 2-1 against the Colleges when the tied teams met head-to-head.

In New London, William Smith sailors will compete for the Wick Trophy. The Herons finished in sixth place last year in New Haven. No. 6 Boston College, No. 11 Boston University, Bowdoin, No. 2 Brown, No. 3 College of Charleston, Fordham, No. 8 Harvard, No. 7 MIT, Northeastern, Northwestern, No. 15 St. Mary’s, Tufts, No. 19 Coast Guard, No. 18 Pennsylvania, No. 12 Rhode Island, Vermont and No. 1 Yale will also be in Connecticut.