HWS to Announce New President Today – Hobart and William Smith Colleges \
The HWS Update

HWS to Announce New President Today

After a unanimous vote, the Hobart and William Smith Colleges Board of Trustees will announce the 29th President of Hobart College and the 18th of William Smith College during a campus event on Friday, Feb. 8 in the L. Thomas Melly ’52 Lobby of the Gearan Center for the Performing Arts.

Board Chair Thomas S. Bozzuto ’68, L.H.D. ’18 says he is looking forward to the announcement to celebrate “this momentous new chapter in the Colleges’ history.”

“We are thrilled to welcome our next President to campus and I invite all of our community to join us for this important and auspicious celebration,” says Bozzuto. “Through the tireless work of our search committee and the engagement of our campus community and our network of alums and families, we have chosen a leader who is uniquely suited to steer our Colleges into the future.”

Leading the Presidential Announcement Ceremony, Bozzuto will be joined by Interim President Patrick A. McGuire L.H.D.’12 and members of the search committee to welcome the new President to the community. The event will be live streamed on the HWS website.

The President-elect joins the Colleges on the cusp of the Hobart bicentennial and on the heels of national accolades for the Colleges’ faculty excellence, Fulbright recipients, environmental leadership, engaged students, and study abroad program, ranked first in the nation two years in a row.

The Presidential Search, led by committee co-chairs and Vice Chairs of the HWS Board of Trustees Cynthia Gelsthorpe Fish ’82 and Andrew G. McMaster Jr. ’74, P’09, began in June of 2018. In collaboration with many HWS stakeholders, the Colleges consulted with the Chicago-based executive search firm, Isaacson, Miller, which helped identify candidates and coordinate the process leading to the selection of the President-elect.

The HWS Presidential Search Committee includes: Trustee Aileen Diviney Gleason ’85; Student Trustee Edens D. Fleurizard ’20; Vice President and General Counsel Louis H. Guard ’07; Student Trustee Caitlin E. Lasher ’19; Assistant Professor of Political Science Justin Rose; Professor of Physics Donald A. Spector; William Smith Director of Athletics Deborah L. Steward; Trustee Craig R. Stine ’81, P’17; Vice President for Marketing and Communications Catherine J. Williams; and Professor of Dance Cynthia J. Williams P’20.

For more information about the presidential search process, please visit https://www2.hws.edu/presidential-search/